We Rise The Tides's Riley Rose Talks New Music

We Rise The Tides is a metalcore band hailing from Portland, OR. Through hard work, dedication and raw passion, We Rise The Tides has created a name for themselves and have achieved a lot in the year and a half that they have been a band. The intimate relationship that they have with their fans has made them a well respected band to music lovers and their hard hitting live performances have earned the respect of fellow bands all along the west coast and beyond. With a solid "cult” following that is constantly growing, We Rise The Tides is ready to make the next step in their musical career and to spread their powerful message to the masses. Guitarist and clean vocalist Riley Rose spoke about the band's latest and upcoming release.

1. What type of band are you guys?

Riley: We're a metal band. Our music covers a broad range of sub-genres of metal, but I would say that the most prominent of the sub-genres would be metalcore.

2. Where is the band from?

Riley: Our home town as far as shows go is Portland, OR, but we are all scattered throughout Washington and Oregon.

3. Do you write your own songs, what are your songs about?

Riley: We do write 100% of our music! As far as what the songs are about, it really depends on the song. There isn't a universal subject that we use for each song. The new EP has a pretty common theme though as of now. I can't really talk about it in detail yet as we are still putting the final touches on the songs lyrically, but the whole EP follows a theme and I definitely really like the direction! It's different than what a lot of bands in the scene are doing nowadays and I'm very proud of that.

4. Who are some of your musical influences?

Riley: For me personally, The Black Dahlia Murder, AFI, Anorexia Nervosa, Thy Art Is Murder, Make Them Suffer, etc. I listen to EVERYTHING, but when I'm working writing some metal I draw influence from a lot of deathcore and symphonic black metal bands as well as just anything that is punishingly heavy. I also am influenced a lot by guitarists such as Randy Rhoads, Dimebag Darrell Abbott, Zakk Wylde, Michael Angelo Batio, etc.

5. So what can you tell me about this new EP?

Riley: It's a huge step up from our last EP. It's faster, more techy, way heavier and much better vocally. It's all around just more mature and more bad ass.

6. What title did you deicde to go with it and is there a meaning behind it?

Riley: We're still working on deciding a final title for the EP, but we have a title that we are pretty sure will end up being it. Unfortunately, I don't want to jump the gun so I can't really say for now.

7. Is this EP going to be a concept release?

Riley: Yes and no. As I mentioned earlier, this EP does follow a common theme, but it isn't a long story or anything. Hopefully we will be able to do a full concept album in the future though!

8. Where are you in the recording process of the new EP?

Riley: Currently, I am working on the pre-production versions of the songs for the EP. This basically means that I demo out all of the songs and send them to the rest of the guys, they critique it, and I change stuff that people don't like until each song is perfect!

9. Who is producing the EP? How has the producer aided the recording process?

Riley: Steven Riverman at Stand Alone Recordings is co-producing, recording, mixing, and mastering the album for us. Brady Johns (The Hatch recording studio) will also be working with us co-producing the album. As far as writing goes, we write it all and our producers will help us add some additional spice to the music. For us, by the time we hit the studio we have already done about four revisions per song so the music is solid.

10. Where are you recording the EP?

Riley: Stand Alone Recordings in Portland, OR.

11. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began for this EP.

Riley: The process hasn't started yet, but we're basically just going for the biggest sounding album possible. We want everything to be tight and punchy and for everything to be performed as solid as humanly possible instrumentally and vocally. We know that with our abilities, Steven will be able to push us and we will get EXACTLY what we want.

12. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

Riley: Not for this EP, no. It's pretty standard with drums, guitars, bass & vocals, but we also use pianos & strings in our music as well. I really love the sound that you get with instruments like pianos & strings over heavy ass music, but I try not to go too crazy with it. We aren't trying to capitalize on the whole breakdowns with dubstep samples over it fad.

13. When did you start writing for this album? How was the songwriting process different/similar to previous We Rise The Tides releases?

Riley: I began writing songs for this album around August 2012, but at the time, we had our old lineup and one member wouldn't allow for anyone to write except for them so it was initially being written for just myself. Then, we had a lineup change and the songs "Five Months" & "Worthless" were used from my material. Our other guitarist Lowen Murray also wrote a bad ass song called "Creator" that I think people are really going to dig! Needless to say, I think things worked out for the best.

14. Did you feel any pressure to do this release?

Riley: Yes and no. In today's music scene, there is always a little bit of pressure. If your music is sub-par, you will get buried by the thousands of other bands trying to make it. Ultimately though, we just write what we love to play and keep it fun. Being in a band is hard work, but it's what we all love and live for, so we don't get caught up too much in all of that.

15. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new EP? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

Riley: One song that I am personally really stoked about is called "Worthless". It's a song that I wanted to write about that time in a person's life where they lose themselves completely. Be it through drugs, alcohol, fame, fortune, or whatever. It's about not even knowing who you are anymore because you're so far gone and about pushing everyone and everything that you care about away because of it. It is a song that hits home for me pretty hard, and I think it's something that most everyone can connect with on some level.

16. How do you think the vibe in the studio will go?

Riley: It's going to go great! We all have known Steven for some time and he's an awesome dude, so we have no worries there. And Brady is Kendall's brother and we did our 2013 demo with him, so we know that it will go great with him too. It will be the perfect environment for us to be in to make some great music.

17. When can we expect the new EP to be released?

Riley: As of right now, we don't have a release date for it, so you will have to stay tuned!

18. What can the fans expect to see from you in the future?

Riley: More touring, more awesome tunes, more shred, more raging live and more party! The future looks very bright for us, and we hope that everyone is as stoked as we are when this thing drops!

19. Is that your final answer?

Riley: For sure! Thanks for taking the time to interview us!

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]