Dead Silence Hides My Cries Founder Matvei Fedorenchik Wretches Symphony No More.....

Dead Silence Hides My Cries is an epic core band from Minsk, Belarus. The band was founded in 2009 by it's vocalist and songwriter Matvey. Once the band piled up enough songs, the decision to record the debut EP was made and eventually their first single was released. After some long-term changes in the crew, rich gig experience and solid volume of material the band started the recording of it's first album - The Wretched Symphony. After the success of that release and a deluxe edition of it the band went on to tour and write and record further on which would now be their second release The Symphony of Hope. Thus founder, bassist, song writer, extreme vocals, lyricist, producer, and programmer of the group, Matvei Fedorenchik discussed this release, it's material, and upcoming plans they have in-store.

1. What type of band are you?

Matvei: So, if you mean band's music style we prefer calling it epic core. We are definitely epic core band.

2. Tell us the brief history of your band.

Matvei: Our band's biography reminds us something like Santa Barbara. So, you'd better read it on our Facebook page.

3. What are your songs about? (What specific themes do they cover?)

Matvei: Actually, we don't have any particular topics for our lyrics. It basically depends on mood. For instance, song "Rest In Peace, My Friend" from the album is dedicated to my departed granny. "My Inspiration" is dedicated to my ex-girlfriend. So, "Who Are You, Mr. Brooks" and "The Pursuit Of The Dream" was named after the movies.  But it is really important that each song is so close and means a lot to band's members.

4. Do you write your own songs? (Discuss the songwriting process in detail.)

Matvei: Yes, I am a songwriter (by the way I'm playing bass now). Talking about the process of songwriting, I should say that I just record melodies when new ones appear inside my head. It can be a chorus or an introduction of songs (I call it "foundation"). And then the main parts and structures (couplets or choruses) of songs are made according to the foundation. After that we use Guitar Pro and start recording instruments. So, finally we write lyrics for tracks.

5. Who are your musical influences?

Matvei: Well, I am eager to say that composers like Hans Zimmer, Steve Jablonsky, John Williams, Clint Mansell influenced on our songs.

6. Tell me about the song "My Hard & Long Way Home".

Matvei: This is the first single from the album, you know. This song is about the man who is staying really far from home in so called captivity. He is completely alone. This man realizes that nobody needs him in this place, that he is loved and needed only at home.

7. How would you describe the overall sound of this album?

Matvei: Unfortunately, we could not do any experiments with the sound because we had a small budget. So, we had to make it in Joe Sturgis's style owing to the fact that his sound is appropriative for each genre. I would like to work with him in the future. I am sure that he would make our symphony much better.

8. What would you say is your favorite track off it?

Matvei: My favorite song from the album is "Rest In Peace, My Friend".

9. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began for this album?

Matvei: We had the only one purpose: to record album as faster as possible. That is because the director of Sumerian  Records was waiting for the material. We wanted to sign in an American label . So, we are the only band in CIS signed in here nowadays.

10. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

Matvei: No we're not.

11. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new album? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

Matvei: I guess they are "Rest In Peace, My Friend" and "Let Me In". These songs are about the people who left us. We feel loneliness and pain without them. "Let Me In" is a next part of "Rest In Peace, My Friend". I would like to make videos for these tracks because they are really soulful. Moreover, these songs sound beautiful.

12. Is there any story or concept behind The Symphony of Hope title?

Matvei: Of course, the album title has a special meaning. Firstly, each our creation is a symphony. That's our unique feature. So, what about the word "hope" in the title, it depicts our hope to find label and make our creation famous. "Dead Silence Hides My Cries" would have been broken up. If we hadn't signed up a contract. There were just 3 band members left when the album was being recorded. We almost lost our faith. Also the music industry in our country is not developed at all. As I know, there are no music labels in Belarus. So, we worked so hard and believed like kids that our pains would be justified.

13. Who produced The Symphony of Hope and what was it like working with them?

Matvei: I had to become a producer because of a small budget. This is the reason of delay. By the way, the album was recorded in 4 months. It was unusual for me and I had to leave my work and girlfriend to finish recording and producing. I spent my free time doing it. That was my obsession.

14. Who did the cover art for The Symphony of Hope and how much input did you have on it?

Matvei: The album cover was made by our Belorussian friend, who is living in France now.

15. Tell me how did you guys get signed with Artery Recordings?

Matvei: Erick, the founder of Artery Recordings, sent us his answer by e-mail. He was keen on signing up our band. We signed up in a month because the album was already done. Thanks Artery Recording for having a lot of having faith in us.

16. What about the band's name, Dead Silence Hides My Cries, where does a name like that come from and does it have a meaning behind it?

Matvei: To be honest, we were not bothered by choosing band's name. In fact, long names were so up-to-date at that date. There was a movie called "Dead Silence", so we decided to use this title. But we made it longer to be unique because there were lots of bands with the same name.

17. Where can we listen to your band and where can we buy your stuff?

Matvei: Our album "The Symphony Of Hope" is out now. You can buy in on iTunes or Amazon. So, you'd better contact with label about it, because they do it.

18. What plans do you have for the near future as a band?

Matvei: As far as our plans are concerned, firstly, we are going to find a vocalist and a guitarist, secondly, we want to create new material for our next album as soon as possible and finally we are going to get VISA and conquer the whole world!

19. Any final words of wisdom?

Matvei: To sum up, I desire to say that you must believe in yourself. That's the main aspect of success. Just do it right now! Everything depends on your aspiration.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]