Caulfield's Doesn't Have ANY Sweet Defeats!

Post hardcore act Caulfield is currently writing and recording for their upcoming release "Vanity". But for now they have gone to release a new song they like to call "Sweet Defeat" which you can check out HERE. The band took sometime to talk about "Vanity" and the other plans they have in-store.

1. What type of band are you guys?

We are a heavy band who’s music is intended to be intentionally played loud from your car stereo as you’re speeding away from the cops in a highway pursuit. At the same time it’s melodic and we chuck clean pretty vocals to mix it up a little. In terms of genre it’s usually describe by “professionals” as Metalcore, screamo or melodic hardcore.

2. Where is the band from?

Sydney born and bread!!!!!!

3. How did the band get it's name?

I (Andrew) read Catcher in the rye in high school. The book’s kind of stayed with me since then and we took the name from the central character – Holden Caulfield. Before settling on this name we’d come up with about 30 terrible names that were far worse so we were happy when Caulfield was locked in.

4. Do you write your own songs, what are your songs about?

Yes, a whole bunch of stuff. And for the bargain price of $20 you can buy our album, read the lyrics and decipher them yourself

5. Who are some of your musical influences?

Every heavy band we've listened to since the age of 13-14. Probably some of the bands that are closer to what we’re doing and have had a more profound impact on us more recently would include, Alexisonfire, Underoath, Amity, Buried in Verona, Bring me the horizon.

6. So what can you tell me about this new album?

The album will be called Vanity – named after one of the tracks on the album. It’s been in the making for a couple of years, pretty much since the release of our debut EP – Clarity in a sea of Confusion.We're all really excited to release the album - I think it continues on from our last album, however I think the songwriting is much more intricate on this album!

7. What title did you decide to go with it and is there a meaning behind it?

Vanity was just a song we all really liked that we thought captured the album well. There’s a meaning behind it but you need to listen to it and read the lyrics for yourself..

8. Is this album going to be a concept release?

Not really.

9. Where are you in the recording process of the new album?

Done. In the final stages of organizing release.

10. Who is producing the album? How has the producer aided the recording process?

Our main man Sonny Truelove from STL studios. He did a superb job on the release and we all believe it’s on par with the big budget releases you hear from major labels with cash to boot.

11. Where are you recording the album?

We recorded it on the sunny central coast of Australia.

12. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began for this album?

We wanted to write and record a sick album that we loved and enjoyed listening to ourselves and our fans would like. We’re really happy with how the albums turned out so we can thick that box!

13. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

There’s probably more keys and some more cool vocal stuff than was done on our EP, other than that it’s business as usual.

14. When did you start writing for this album?

Some of the riffs we’re floating around as far back as three years ago most of it was written last year.

15. Did you feel any pressure to do this release?


16. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new album? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

The first song on the album is called a letter to myself one year ago – It’s a track we’re all really excited about and can’t wait to share with the world. A central theme through this song is that something has happened to this person. These are the thoughts that run through his head in his hospital bed. This is what the lyric “I’m looking at life from the other side” refers to. The time in recovery leads to reflections upon his life and missed opportunities. The reality is at any moment we can be struck down and rendered unable to live the life we so often take for granted. These lyrics are written in a multi perspective prose. The subject is in reflection about his own past which he regrets. Namely his own hesitation and inaction and now realizes it’s best to learn from his mistakes and move on with life taking every chance that is presented from day to day.

17. How has the vibe in the studio been?

One word – amazing. We meshed with Sonny so well – he became like the sixth member of our band. When you love music as much as we all do travelling up to the studio and making music with a bunch of songs you’re really pumped about is a fulfilling and awesome experience. That’s honestly the best way I can describe it.

18. When can we expect the new album to be released?

Probably soon after July. We’ve shot a film clip for a song called sour grapes. You can expect this real soon – before we release the album! So keep your eyes peeled.

19. What can the fans expect to see from you in the future?

We’re going to be more active on social media and tour like we never have before!!!! So much so that people will be very sick of us very soon!!!

20. Is that your final answer?

C. Lock it in Regis!

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]

Contact Form


Email *

Message *