Evol Walks' Leah-Martin Brown Rocks this Discussion

Hard rockers Evol Walks formed only this year and have already made their mark upon the music scene. They have been hard at work writing and recording for their debut album coming out soon with further plans to play shows and tour of course! Lead vocalist Leah-Martin Brown discusses the band's progress of the new release, themselves, and future.

1. What type of band are you?

Leah-Martin Brown: We are a five-piece rock and roll band.

2. Tell us the brief history of your band.

Leah-Martin Brown: We formed at the beginning of this year after I made the move to Hollywood from Australia. After a few months of jamming we were invited to play the Global Rock Summit and have been making our way from there.

3. What are your songs about? (What specific themes do they cover?)

Leah-Martin Brown: We cover everything from classic, fun, "let's party" rock anthems to brooding love ballads. It really depends on the mood when we're writing.

4. Do you write your own songs? (Discuss the songwriting process in detail.)

Leah-Martin Brown: Most definitely. The songwriting process tends to change from track to track, sometimes I will have the lyrics entirely written with melody and basic chords and song structure and we'll nut it out the finer details and maybe even rewrite in the studio. Sometimes I'll sit down with our guitarist CJ and he'll come up with some killer riffs while I sing different melodies over the top. We'll record the basic skeleton then go away and work on things as individuals then come back and hopefully have a finished track to bring to the other guys for their input. It's always a very collaborative process.

5. Who are your musical influences?

Leah-Martin Brown: There are so many different musicians we take our influences from. At the forefront would definitely be bands like Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, Black Sabbath but there's also artists like, JET, Monster Magnet and Stone Sour.

6. Tell me about your new single.

Leah-Martin Brown: 'Heartbreakin Woman' is an attitude driven rock 'n' roll song that's also meant to be a bit of fun. A lot of the phrases I took from arguments I'd had with an ex a while ago and then it sort of took off from there. It is definitely an awesome rock 'n' roll track that you can sing along and dance around to- which is the most important part.

7. How many songs have you written for your next release?

Leah-Martin Brown: Around 25/26 at the moment which will most likely turn into more... I'm guessing not all will make the final cut though. :)

8. Do you have any favorites?

Leah-Martin Brown: I love them all for different reasons but I'll have to come back to you on that when we complete recording them and we can compare notes!

9. What are the upcoming touring plans for you guys?

Leah-Martin Brown: We're currently finalizing these and look forward to sharing them very soon.

10. What can one expect from a Evol Walks show?

Leah-Martin Brown: Loud guitars, long hair, awesome energy and lots of fun!

11. What advice would you give to people who would like to do what you're doing?

Leah-Martin Brown: Work hard, don't let anyone tell you you're not good enough, love what you do and never, ever give up! It is really all about the work and the passion you have for your craft.

12. How did the get band the name, Evol Walks?

Leah-Martin Brown: I was trying to think of a really cool name and I was listening to AC/DC at the time. Their track 'Evil Walks' came onto my iPod and I was singing along and it hit me! What a rad band name! The only thing is, I'm not really super "evil" so I was trying to think of another way we could use it. Evol was a fun play on the spelling as it can mean so many different things and still get the sound and vibe across.

13. Where can we listen to your band and where can we buy your stuff?

Leah-Martin Brown: We'll be available for purchase through iTunes etc. later in the year so for now you can listen to us on our Soundcloud www.soundcloud.com/evol-walks.

14. What plans do you have for the near future as a band?

Leah-Martin Brown: At the moment we're writing and recording our debut album plus playing some shows. :)

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]