Rev Jones Discusses New Album and Future Plans

Rock n' roller REV JONES has a new album out titled "Bakwash". This is where the vocalist/bassist Rev Jones himself discusses said album and future plans.

1. Please tell us about the history of your band and its members.

Rev: Well this is my solo project. A little history about me (Rev Jones). I've been touring & recording with several big acts for the last 20 years or so. I was in a speed metal band called Fort'e we released 2 albums on Massacre Records in the early 90's. Then I joined Black Symphony we released 2 albums in the late 90's and did a European tour with DIO. Then in 2000 I joined Michael
Schenker Group, I was the bass player 2000 until Dec. 2006, during that time we toured the world non stop and released a couple of albums & DVD's. I did returned to do several tours in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2014. After leaving MSG, I joined 2 well well known bands, the first was Steelheart who I toured & recorded with from 2007-2017, the second band was Leslie West/Mountain who I toured & recorded with from 2008-present. I still currently do shows with Leslie West. Also during all those years I recorded with George Lynch, Jeff Martin, Paul Gilbert, Kottak, Jack Frost, Steve Moore, Fort'e, China Blue, and Blasted To Static. I also did several tours during those years with Fuel, Texas Hippie Coalition, and Gundriver.

2. What’s the origin of the band’s name?

Rev: It's my name.

3. Where is the band based out of and what is your music scene like there? Are there any local bands you could recommend?

Rev: I live in the middle of the USA in Oklahoma. Back when I was starting out late 80's early 90's it was awesome. We had created this amazing scene here, local shows had 250-800 people, there were like 20 or 30 great bands that should've been signed. Then the scene died. Some blame bands like Nirvana for it, but in reality Metallica is the one that should be blamed. When Metallica became mainstream there was no need for a metal club any more. Before that if you wanted to hear top 40 you went to the top 40 bars and if you wanted to hear metal or heavy rock you went to the local rock/metal club, after Metallica became huge you could go to the top 40 bar and hear Metallica songs, so why go to the rock/metal club. As for the scene now 2018, there isn't really that big of a scene. There are a couple of good bands I've seen here, Sign Of Lies,
and Kirra.

4. How would you describe your style?

Rev: Rev Jones Rock! It's a combination of all the music I grew up listening to, from Buddy Holly to Beatles, King Crimson to Jim Croce, Stevie Wonder to Sly Stone, Deep Purple to Van Halen, Judas Priest to Slayer. It's all in there.

5. What have you released so far and what can someone expect from your works?

Rev: I have a new album called "Bakwash" that was just just released in November 2018. It is my first solo album. It features myself (Rev Jones) on Vocals & Bass, Jim Dofka (Dofka, Leather Leone) on guitar, and Jeff Martin (Badlands, MSG, Racer X) on drums. This album is full of heavy rock songs with catchy riffs, intense vocals, pounding drums, and lots of Insane over the top bass & guitar soloing. I'm very pleased with it, and I think everyone that is into music from Rock to Metal should give it a listen, there's a something for pretty much everyone on this album. There is also a new Steelheart live DVD that just came out that features myself (Rev Jones) on Bass. It is called "Steelheart - Rock'n Milan" on Frontier Records. It was filmed in in Italy 2017 shortly before I left the band.

6. Do you have any new music in the works?

Rev: Well since the "Bakwash" album was just released, I'm gonna be focusing mostly on promoting it. I have plans to release at least 1 maybe 2 videos featuring songs from the album. I have a a couple of cover songs that I recorded for this album that I last minute pulled off, I plan to release at least 1 of them as a single sometime during 2019. As for new material, I have a bunch of songs ready for my next album as well as a ton of song ideas so I will probably start recording that material end of summer 2019.

7. How about playing shows and touring, have anything planned out?

Rev: I am currently playing shows around my area with a different lineup than the one on the new album. Jim and Jeff both live too far away to do any shows other than a planned tour. I would love to do a couple shows with that lineup but as for now I can't make that happen. I am planning to do as many dates as I can this year, and I am working on a few things right now that will hopefully pan out. My current live lineup is myself (Rev Jones) on vocals & bass, Will Galbraith on guitar, and Kerry Staton on drums.

8. What plans do you have for the future as a band?

Rev: Well since I'm no longer playing bass for Steelheart, and only doing shows with Leslie West every few months, my focus will be on my solo stuff. I definitely plan to keep doing shows and to release another album or 2. As for the lineup on future recordings, I will most likely use my current lineup, unless I decide to add several guest players.

9. Where can we listen to your band and where can we buy your stuff?

Rev: You can stream my new album at its also on most all online streaming services, spottily, apple music, etc. You can purchase the album at one of these:

Available on CD (USA and CAN) =
Digital Download (world wide) =
Digital and CD (world wide) =

It's also available on most all online stores.

10. What is it you’d like a listener to remember the most when hearing your music for the first time?

Rev: That it is honest to Rev Jones. It is not written to sound like anyone, or to please certain kinds of listeners, or to try and follow certain guidelines that new music follows. These songs were ideas that popped in my head that I decided to share with anyone that enjoys music. What you hear is what I am musically at the moment I recorded it. If you dig what I do, please enjoy it. If you don't dig what I do, that's fine, stick to what you like.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]