Shark Infested Daughters' Chris Discusses New Music and Touring

Metalcore six piece Shark Infested Daughters, from Calgary, AB, will be touring quite a bit, with the release of their new album "These Tides, Our Tombs", where they have been pushing themselves like never before, Frontman vocalist Chris Thoresen discusses the new release as well as how badly the band wants to break the ground running, with constant touring.

1. What role do you play in the band?

Chris: My name is Chris Thoresen, I do Vocals in Shark Infested Daughters.

2. Shark Infested Daughters is your namesake, but why is that? Does the name represent a meaning or is it just a name?

Chris: It's honestly just a name. You read it, you get it. The only saving grace of the name is it let's us get away with murder. We can put out any kind of music we want under this, and never be forced to write a certain genre.

3. What has influenced your sound and style?

Chris: Honestly the beginnings of metalcore. Bands like Killswitch Engage, I Killed the Prom Queen, and As I Lay Dying. Music that was aggressive, but didn't lack substance in their music, or their message. Which unfortunately seems to be the case with a lot of "Core" bands these days.

4. What are your songs about? (What specific themes do they cover?)

Chris: We usually write about darker stuff. We draw from personal experiences or our friends experiences. This album touches a lot on suicide, depression, love and loss. There's little bits of positivity hiding in the album, but it was mostly a chance for us to get a lot of stuff off our chests.

5. Do you write your own songs? (Discuss the songwriting process in detail.)

Chris: Yeah, we even got a little guidance from our friend and producer Rob Kukla on this album. The process basically goes like this,

-Riff idea
-Guitar Scratch track
-Basic Drum groove track
- Keyboard leads and backing melody track
- Scratch vocal(s) track

We take all that to our good friend Rob and begin dissecting it piece by piece and reforming it with new arrangements. Sometimes it takes an outside perspective to see that some things you write suck. After the initial demo process we then take the 2nd cut of the demo and begin making more intricate parts, such as leads, drum fills, balancing vocals out and overall feel or tone of the song.

After the now 3rd cut of the song we bring it back to Rob to begin tracking, and things change once again as we really suss out certain lines or melodies, and we end up with a 4th cut that becomes our Final product. Every song on the album was made this way, and it really let us be sure of what we were putting out.

6. How do you describe your music to people?

Chris: No bullshit metalcore.

7. What image do you think your music conveys?

Chris: We honestly just tried to make it as powerful as possible. If it stirs any emotion in the listener, than we've succeeded

8. You will soon be releasing your new album, "These Tides, Our Tombs" can you tell me a little bit about it?

Chris: "These Tides, Our Tombs" is an album that has been in the works for the last two years. We wanted to step our game up musically, and really set out to challenge ourselves and find our limits. The songs featured on this album feature a lot of styles and techniques outside of our initial comfort zone, that we somehow managed to make fit in with our sound.

9. What is the concept behind the album and how did the idea come about?

Chris: "These Tides, Our Tombs" title is taken from the first single "Tidebringer" That song was the first single we put out showcasing the new direction we were heading. "These Tides" symbolizes the negativity we all face in the world, "Our Tombs" symbolizes how we deal with them. Its sink or swim.

10. What is your favourite song on "These Tides, Our Tombs" and why?

Chris: We all enjoy the final track on the album, "Hitokiri". It's not overly complicated, and has beauty in it's simplicity. The melodies are crisp and memorable, and the groove is just so much fun to play to.

11. What can fans expect from the new Shark Infested Daughters  album?

Chris: A powerful sounding record featuring jaw breaking aggression and emotional melodies.

12. What was the writing and recording process like for the album?

Chris: See Question 5

13. Why do you think people should check out your new album once released?

Chris: We believe it to be pretty different from the stuff flooding the market right now, especially in our area. If you're a fan of music with substance and a message then this record is for you.

14. How would you say you differ from other bands and artists on the scene?

Chris: Most metalcore now a days revolves around "Party metal" or empty themes and rockstar attitudes. In our area there isn't a lot of people playing the style of metal we bring to the table, and the actual keyboard player always sends people for a loop.

15. What do you want to achieve as a band?

Chris: We want to tour more. We're definitely a road dog band, so any opportunity for us to hit the road we'll take. Hopefully this record will help us break ground in the United States in 2017.

16. What does next year hold for Shark Infested Daughters?

Chris: Tour.Tour.Tour.Tour.Tour.Tour.Tour.Write.

17. Describe Shark Infested Daughters in three words.

Chris: Dun-na Dun-na DUNDUNDUNDUNDUNN!

18. If that your final answer?

Chris: Did I say I was done?


Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]