Ænimus' Matt and Deebs Answers About their Transcend Reality....

Groovy deathcore addicts Ænimus have been hard at work, writing and recording for their brand new album called "Transcend Reality" this release featuring guest spots from special vocalists and a whole lot more it'll make your head spin like a top! Vocalist Matt and guitarist Deebs went ahead and answered the following questions in regards to this release.

1. You have a new album coming soon what can you tell me about it?

The title of the album is 'Transcend Reality' which is currently in its final stages of recording. It features guest vocals on one track from Hernan Eddie Hermida (All Shall Perish) as well as another guest musician on another track to be named later. After you listen to the album, you probably won't be able to walk straight for a few days.

2. Would you say that this is a concept release?

Yes, it is a conceptual release. The album follows a linear story line where you can follow the main character song by song.

3. Where are you in the recording process of the new release?

We are currently finishing up the last song which only requires a few vocal lines and then it's all finished!

4. Who is producing it? How has the producer aided the recording process?

Nick Botelho of NB Recording is the audio engineer involved in tracking, mixing, and mastering our album. He understands the direction of the band and knows how to bring out the sound we want to it's fullest potential. We are behind him all the way in his ability to create a mix and sound we will be satisfied with.

5. Where did a name like Ænimus come from and mean?

Ænimus is a term founded by Carl Jung. In Jungian Psychology, the word 'Ænimus' is the masculine subconscious referring to logic and ambition. There's a little more to it than that but we could go on for days! We chose this band name because it encompasses the mutual aspiration of each member's drive and professionalism.

6. What label will be releasing this album?

We have gained the interest of a couple of labels. As of now, our full focus is on finishing the full length and then we'll work on the label situation.

7. How would you describe the overall sound of it?

As a whole, the album gives off a technical yet groovy deathcore sound while still maintaining a solid melodic foundation. Deathcore always seems to lack melody, focusing solely on rhythm, and we're trying to bring it to the next level by incorporating as much melody and technique we can into our music. Especially since we are a three guitar band, if they were all doing rhythms, what's the point? Due to the process of finding our sound mixed with the lyrical concepts, each song is a unique variation of the general musical vision we agreed upon.

8. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began?

We wanted to create a coherent sound that transcended sub-genres while simultaneously trying to reinvent them in our own way. Lyrically, we wanted to provoke thought using serious insightful and conceptual content as well as experimentally designing the music around the lyrics.

9. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

We didn't use any instruments that we weren't familiar with, no.

10. When did you start writing for this release?

The writing process began around the fall of 2010. So roughly 2 years ago. Also, a few member changes delayed the writing process since certain material written we decided against using, as well as everyone being busy with their own lives. Regardless, the extra time put into the album has definitely paid off, and we are growing more and more satisfied with it as it progressively gets done.

11. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new release? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

Track 9 is titled 'Heavy Lies The Crown'. This song, lyrically, is frantic. Therefore, the music has no repeating parts and is continually evolving as the lyrics suggest. Throughout the album, each song has a general theme based on the lyrics, but this song in particular closely follows the lyrical progression on a musical basis.

Track 4 is titled 'Masterpiece'. The strong message that the album gives is the importance of struggle and hardship. This song deals with the idea of recognizing loss as a necessary part of moving toward a goal. In Layman's terms, you have to lose some to gain some. Now in terms of the music, this is one of the most experimental songs that we created. It has a classically dark feel to it and is bipolar while still keeping a standard song structure.

12. How is the vibe in the studio?

Well, it's kinda awkward because Nick lives alone with his cat. He maintains a solid diet of fish sticks and diet coke and is constantly watching porn between takes...but other than that, he's a genius!!!!

13. When can we expect it to be released?

You can expect it to be released early to mid 2013!

14. What are your expectations for it?

All we expect is for people to play beer pong with us on tour...and enjoy our music!

15. What type of band are you guys and what do you hope to bring to the music scene?

By definition, we're a technical deathcore band that bring the elements of groove, melody, and prog into one cohesive package.

16. The types of themes that your songs cover are what?

The overall theme of the album is the importance of struggle in our lives. Through determination and resolution, we can overcome any hardship no matter how dim things may seem. It's those personal adversities that define who we are.

17. Why are you here and why is this what you want to do in life?

We're here because music is the only thing we want to do in life, and if we don't succeed in doing music, we'll kill ourselves because we don't want to work at McDonald's.

18. Anything else you'd like to say or add?

Titty sprinkles. Oh, and we don't have anything against McDonald's..aside from a creepy clown mascot who haunts our dreams. But on a real note, we 'd like to thank our manager at RebelPyro Management and everyone who has taken the time to listen to our music and has supported us in anyway they could. Without them, this whole experience would not be worth while.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]