Scream The Dream's Nicky War Talks New Music and New Shows In-Store!

Southern Califorians Scream The Dream is a 5-piece post hardcore screamo rock band just getting back into the mix of things when it comes to making music. Guitarist Nicky War took some time aside from him and the guys writing new material for their yet to be released EP to discuss this release as well as some shows that are in-store very soon.

1. So it's been a while since we last heard from Scream The Dream, can you tell me what's been going on with the band as of late?

Nicky: The band was on a little bit of a hiatus for a while. We all started jamming together again and now we've been in the studio nonstop.

2. Where are you in the process of the new EP?

Nicky: Still tracking a lot of it. We have a couple songs done but the overall finished product isn't gonna be ready for a bit.

3. Who is producing the EP?

Nicky: Our good friend Ahmad Alkurabi from Rob The Cartel and A Smile From The Trenches.

4. Where are you recording the EP?

Nicky: At Ahmad's place out in LA.

5. "Bright Blue Eyes And Butterfly Knives" is the current teaser song you've made available, when will this song be released?

Nicky: As soon as we can release it we will, which will be soon.

6. Can you tell me about the song, "Bright Blue Eyes And Butterfly Knives"?

Nicky: The song is actually a song we have had written for a long time now. It's about falling so deeply in love with someone to the point of obsession and insanity and ending up stalking and killing that person.

7. Will you be self-releasing or be having a label releasing the EP?

Nicky: As of right now it will be a self-release.

8. How would you describe the overall sound of the new EP? How does it compare to your previous material?

Nicky: Its definitely going to be different than what we've done before. We hit a lot of different styles in the few songs we chose to track. It's still Scream The Dream for sure though.

9. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began?

Nicky: We just wanted to go in there and put out the best possible songs we can. With Ahmad's help I believe we're doing just that.

10. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

Nicky: Nope, not yet anyways.

11. What are your songs about this time?

Nicky: An array of different things.. Christian is a mad man haha.

12. When did you start writing for this EP? How was the songwriting process different/similar to previous Scream The Dream material?

Nicky: A lot of the songs were previously written so long ago I don't even remember how they were born haha. One we're doing now we're actually writing in the studio. Getting the guitar structure first, then drums, then vocals. Writing in the studio is cool because its all laid out in front of you and easy to tweak.

13. How many songs will be on the EP?

Nicky: 3 songs.

14. Have you chosen a title and is it going to be a concept release?

Nicky: We do have a title, we can't say yet.

15. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new EP? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

Nicky: The Bitter Truth is a song we wrote years ago. Its essentially Manson meets AFI meets Atreyu meets SKSK meets Black Dahlia Murder haha. I like to call it creep swing. Its a fun, bouncy, drivey rock/metal song.

Bright Blue Eyes And Butterfly Knives was written years ago as well. It's just a straight heavy song. The whole thing revolves around drive and the only let up in the song leads into an explosion of heavy.. it's my favorite haha.

16. When can we expect the new EP to be released?

Nicky: Probably around April/May... maybe sooner.

17. What are the plans as far as touring and shows go?

Nicky: Come May we'll be doing some small tours for sure.

18. Would you like to say or add anything else?

Nicky: We're just really happy to be playing again and putting out new music. The future of Scream The Dream is going to be awesome!

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]

Contact Form


Email *

Message *