Throw The Fight's Ryan Baustert Enter the Vault

Bullet Tooth Records had announced the worldwide signing of Minneapolis, Minnesota's Throw The Fight since that day they went on to record and write material for not one but two different releases. Their debut entitled "What Doesn't Kill Us" and upcoming EP "The Vault". With that these guys set the scene drawing in the crowds left and right with their music skills and now who knows what will happen next. Guitarist Ryan Baustert goes on to discuss the band's upcoming EP and whatever plans they have lined up next.

1. What's the origin of the band’s name?

Ryan: My grandfather was a boxer during WWII. The name is a tribute to him.

2. How did you come together?

Ryan: We formed in 2003 when I was going to college at UW – Stout.

3. You guys have a unique sound, which bands would you say influence you the most?

Ryan: Collectively as a band, we've always been influenced by Papa Roach, Killswitch Engage, Rise Against, and Story of the Year. Those bands are definitely big influences for us. When I was just getting into music it was Metallica, Black Sabbath, Stevie Ray Vaughn, Guns N Roses, etc during the early years.

4. How does What Doesn't Kill Us and The Vault differ and compare to one another?

Ryan: “What Doesn't Kill Us” is a full length album we did with John Feldmann out in LA. The Vault is an EP of music that we did prior to doing the last album. We tracked them with Ian Combs, a producer in Minneapolis. Sonically, “What Doesn't Kill Us” is more polished. The tracks on “The Vault” are more raw and in-your-face.

5. You guys had previously recorded these songs but were holding onto them for as you said a rainy day, why did you choose to hold onto these songs in particular, is there a reason?

Ryan: We had amassed 16 new tracks over the past year and a half that we were able to record. Too much for a full album. So we decided to hold a few of them back so that we could release an EP 6 months after the last album was released.

6. Do you guys have any new music in the works?

Ryan: We’re always writing and working on new material. Currently we’re writing in Minneapolis for the next album. Right now we've got about 8 or 9 songs in various stages of completion.

7. Why did you want to go with calling this release "The Vault"? Would you say that this is a concept release?

Ryan: I wouldn't call it a “concept release.” The name is simply a reference to having extra material that’s been stored away waiting to see the light of day.

8. Will you be shooting a new music video for any of the songs off "The Vault" release?

Ryan: Possibly. We will have some lyric videos coming out to support the release. We did shoot a video for our song, “Lights Out For Summer” when we were on tour in November. That song is off of “What Doesn't Kill Us” and will be getting released next month. So that will be the next “official” video from us.

9. This will be released on Bullet Tooth Records, what's your relationship been like with that label?

Ryan: It’s been great. They've done everything they said they were going to do for us and more.

10. There are a few shows you have coming up but what are the upcoming plans as far as touring goes?

Ryan: We just got back from doing a run with Nonpoint. All those shows were killer. Right now we’re working on other tours as we speak. All confirmed dates are posted online. But we’ll be announcing a new tour and other shows soon.

11. What are the plans for Throw The Fight for 2013?

Ryan: Continue to tour and promote our current releases. We’re hoping to also be able to make it over to Europe at some point this year, as well.

12. Anything else you want to say to your fans?

Ryan: We appreciate all of your support over the years! It’s been a blessing. Don't forget to connect with us online;

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]

Contact Form


Email *

Message *