Reign Of Life's Gianni Discusses New Album and Plans for the Future!

Channeling their inner rage and bringing grit and groove back to the metal scene, Reign of Lies is revitalizing the genre, sticking to their root, and playing with a fearless conviction that is lacking of many of today’s bands. Lead vocalist and guitarist Gianni Rosati discussed the band's past, present, and future activities since entering the studio to finish up their all new record.

1. What type of band are you?

Gianni We are a metal band that mixes brutality with groove and plays with conviction a style that is slightly inspired by our favorites bands, such as Pantera, Gojira and Lamb of God. Reign of Lies is out to revitalize the metal genre. Nowadays, there are a lot of progressive metal bands within the scene which are amazing, but rather than following the stream, we prefer to stick to our roots and created our own stigma and style.

2. Tell us the brief history of your band.

Gianni: The original idea of the band was conceived while I was living in London in 2010, before the disband of my 10 year long band: Minkus, which disbanded in 2011. Having moved from Switzerland to the UK, I wanted to create something that would reflect my own thoughts and character in a way that Minkus didn't.
The band was officially created in January 2012 after I moved to LA.

3. Who writes the songs, what are they about?

Gianni: I created the songs and arrangements during the period when I was living in London and finalized everything after I arrived in LA. The title of the album is "The New Empire" and the songs are about the Lie we are living in, in our everyday life. Everyone is lying to each other including their own person, they all want to be somebody else. We are all complaining about our own lives, instead of changing them. As we all know, the media and the government are manipulating people, which makes them feel secured in their shitty lives of lies, even though their lives are frustrating. People are too scared to believe in themselves and to take risks.

4. Where are you in the recording process of the new album?

Gianni The recording, the mixing and the mastering of the album are finished. The album should be out early summer 2013.

5. Who is producing the album? How has the producer aided the recording process?

Gianni: I recorded all the instruments in my home studio with the help of Heavyocity Records. The mixing was done by the amazing Lee Wanner in LA and the mastering by Jens Bogren from Fascination Street studio (Soilwork, Opeth, Amon Amarth, etc.) in Sweden. Jens really captured the idea of the band and gave it the European sound that we were researching.

6. Where did you record the album?

Gianni In my living room ;) and at Heavyocity Records studio.

7. How would you describe the overall sound of the new album?

Gianni: It's heavy, powerful and in your face!

8. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

Gianni: My voice. I released 3 other albums with Minkus, where I was just composing and playing guitar.
It was a real challenge for me because I  never thought I would be the front man and now, here we are!

9. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began for this album?

Gianni: The goal was to create something original that would really reflect the thoughts that would keep me awake at night. I wanted to make something groovy and aggressive. Now that the album is done, the objective is to tour and play as much as possible and to meet our fans and have a blast with them.

10. When did you start writing for this album? Would you say that the songwriting process is in anyway different or similar?

Gianni: I started in 2010. This one was different from what I have done before because I wrote all the songs, before finding the other members of the band.

11. Did you feel any pressure to do this follow up?

Gianni: This being our first album there is no particular pressure apart from the one that we are inflicting to ourselves. At start, I felt really relaxed and confident as this was a personal project I always wanted to do. But now, I can feel the pressure because we've worked really hard on this and the guys in the band are all amazing and deserve to be recognized.

12. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new album? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

Gianni The third song on the album is entitled Pay Day. It's about the human beings that waste the earth's wealth without any respect and without caring  about the consequences. We'll all have to pay the price of our selfish behaviors at some point.

The best way to get an idea of how "Pay Day" sounds, is to go check it on our website
The fifth song on the album is DMT. It's about the awakening of the human spirit to the universal consciousness.

Some people know it as a drug, which is highly prohibited, but it doesn't have any kind of bad side effects and is not addictive. It's a molecule which is released in our brain when we die or when we dream.
To get an idea of how DMT sounds, let's say that it's a mix between alternating blast beats and groovy sections. It kind of sounds like a spiritual song with balls, if you want.

13. How is the vibe in the studio?

Gianni: Well, we had loads of beers, fun and Big sounds, so it all went great!

14. When can we expect the new album to be released?

Gianni: In early summer 2013 via Heavyocity Records.

15. What are your upcoming plans for 2013?

Gianni: Well, first we need to get the album out and then we have a few tours planned, so keep an eye open for the announcements on our website.

16. Is that your final answer?

Gianni: No, this is definitely not the last you've heard from us. There is still much more to come. Thank you very much for reading this and keep in touch on our facebook page "Reign of Lies" and our website:

Also special thanks to our clothing sponsor "KEETCH" for all the help and awesome stuff they created for us. Check their stuff out at

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]

Contact Form


Email *

Message *