Spine Crown's Rodrigo Discusses About the Evil Next Door

Death metal titans Spine Crown have released material of theirs in the form of an EP entitled "The Evil Next Door" in which already has follow-up material as a work in progress due out soon. Besides that these guys got their start and released some tunes with plans to not stopping anytime soon or at all for that matter. Frontman vocalist Rodrigo Marchetti discusses the EP, new music, and plans.

1. What type of band are you?

Rodrigo: Well, we describe ourselves as a death metal band.

2. Tell us a brief history of your band.

Rodrigo: Spine Crown is a project that was conceived a long time ago. Peterson Martins (guitars) and I (Rodrigo Marchetti - vocals) had already played together in other bands in the past.
Brutal and Horror Chamber. Some time after we left Horror Chamber we started talking about creating a new project. Then in December of 2013 we met and started writing a couple of songs. Peterson's brother, Iuri Martins joined the band in early 2014 as bassist. It was time to find a drummer, then we invited Thiago Hertel former drummer of the black metal band Forest of Demons.

3. Your band's name Spine Crown, obviously refers to someone's spine or does it not have to do with the body's actual spine at all? What about the crown?

Rodrigo: Yes, it actually refers to a human spine. A few years a go, I saw an old horror movie called "Humongous".  In its poster there's a spine or a torax over a corpse head, then I looked at it and I thought: It would be very demented make a crown from a human spine. Then the name came in my mind, Spine Crown and I thought, this is a pretty good name.

4. Who are your musical and non-musical influences?

Rodrigo: There's a lot of artists and bands that have influenced us over the years, but I guess that Sepultura, Six Feet Under and Death are our main musical influence. Movies and literature would be our non musical influence.

5. Who writes the songs, what are they about?

Rodrigo: Usually Peterson and I. Sometimes i or him comes with and idea and he writes the riffs and the solos. After that we work in the structure of the song, then later i write the lyrics. The Evil Next Door is basically about the human evilness. The first song that has the same title, is about the idea that the evil can be closer that you may think. Someone very next to you could be a serial killer or a maniac. Empty Vessel is about the human exploitation, like prostitution for example. They work for so many years and sometimes in woeful conditions that when you look at them, looks like they don't have a soul anymore.

6. What's your take on on your EP "The Evil Next Door" as a whole?

Rodrigo: We are very satisfied with "The Evil Next Door". I think that we were able to put some heavy old school riffs on it and at the same time we were able to add a different approach also. Personally, is like a new breath for us, you know. Trying to do something a little different but without lose our roots.

7. What's your favorite song on the "The Evil Next Door" EP as of right this second?

Rodrigo: That's a tough question to answer. I love both songs but if I have to pick one I would say The Evil Next Door. I guess that is because of the aggression and speed of it. That nonstop feeling that drives you until near the end and then we change that to a slow groovy riff.  I love it, but Empty Vessel is a great song too, in my opinion.

8. Is it important for you to paint visual pictures with the songs?

Rodrigo: Yes, I think that is kind of a normal thing when we are composing. Personally, I create visual pictures in my mind all the time, either an idea for a music video or for a album cover or even an idea for a movie based in a song I've heard or I've written.

9. What would be the cinematic equivalent of the "The Evil Next Door" EP?

Rodrigo: It would be Alice Sweet Alice (1976) also known as Communion. It have a similar plot idea of "The Evil Next Door". There's ambiguous characters with evil intentions and social and mental disorders.

10. Do you have any new music in the works?

Rodrigo: Yes, we are working now on new songs for our full length that we should record later this year.

11. What can the fans expect to see from you guys for this year?

Rodrigo: We have a new song coming out in June or July which will have a music video. After that we should hit the road for a few shows as part of the promotion of our EP. Then finally in December we should start recording our first album.

12. Have anything else you would like to say or want to add on?

Rodrigo: First I would like to thank you for this interview and for the opportunity of show to your followers a little bit of your work. Also I would like to say that the response of the audience has been great and we're very glad for it. Thank you to you all!

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]

Contact Form


Email *

Message *