From Ashes To New Discusses New Nothing But the NEW

From Ashes to New was founded in early 2013 by Matt Brandyberry (Twelve After). After all the years of failed projects and less than eager members, Matt decided it was time to go a different direction, a comfortable direction. Chris Musser (Jacobs Ladder) joined Matt almost immediately after the idea was spawned. Not too long after, Dan Kecki (Twelve After) and Jon-Mikel Valudes followed in suit.

The idea behind From Ashes to New, was to do something fresh and meaningful. By taking every kind of music that influences them, FATN is able to create a sound that is not only refreshing but also makes you feel as if you've known it all along. With songs geared toward everyday struggles and uplifting lyrics in the direction of self betterment; From Ashes to New looks to capture the attention of listeners from all walks of music. Vocalist Matt Brandyberry and drummer Jon-Mikel Valudes discusses the process of the new EP and upcoming plans between now into next year!

1. What type of band are you?


2. Tell us the brief history of your band.

The band was founded by Matt Brandyberry in early 2013.  The idea behind FATN was to find the best fitting member for every position and write music that was different but familiar.

3. Why did you want to go with the name From Ashes to New?

From Ashes to New symbolizes the destruction of all previous bands and genres, into something fresh and "new".

4. Where is the band from and what is the music scene like there?

We're from Lancaster PA.  The music scene in Lancaster is well diverse.  There seems to be a crowd for everything.

5. Who are your musical and non-musical influences?

Musical; Linkin Park, Of Mice and Men, Sleeping With Sirens, Korn, Incubus, Eminem, Deftones, Daft Punk, Skrillex etc. Non-musical; everyday people and ourselves.  The lyrical content is built on everyday struggles.

6. Who writes the songs, what are they about?

Matt Brandyberry is the man behind it all.  The songs are about everyday occurrences that make decision making difficult and how people deal with personal struggles and how they can overcome them.

7. Can you tell me about your single "My Fight"? What's heard on this song will that be found on the EP?

"My Fight", is about someone telling you that you can't do what you love.  Jealous, disbelieving, or just ignorant, they do what they can to bring you down.  The song talks about the will to overcome.  It will be on the EP.

8. Where are you in the recording process of the new EP?

We are 2 songs shy of a finished 5 song EP and it will be completed December 10th.

9. Have you picked a title if so what is it and does it have a meaning behind it?

The EP will be self-titled.

10. Will there be a concept to this release?

The release is already much anticipated.  We will release it on December 10th in normal fashion.

11. Who is producing the album? How has the producer aided the recording process?

Grant McFarland (August Burns Red, Texas in July, I the Breather, Sirens and Sailors, Live, to name a few). Grant is a musical mastermind and an overall joy to work with.  He has taken our ideas and painted the big picture. We don't believe the EP would be what it is without Grant.

12. Where are you recording the album?

Atrium Audio in Lancaster PA.  The bands listed above have also recorded there.

13. Will you be self-releasing this EP?


14. How would you describe the overall sound of this release?

A mix between all things metal.  New and refreshing but familiar to the everyday listener.  You will say, "hey that sounds like ???, but wait that sounds like ???," but in the end it sounds like itself.  We are trying to accomplish the "perfect" genre blend.

15. How do you think the mixing will go?

It's fantastic!

16. What’s the writing and recording process for you?

Everything starts on the piano. From there its developed into an electronic song.  After the main idea is brought to life, guitars are added. Lyrics come last. Everything is pre-produced in a home studio before taken to post production.

17. Are there any surprises or collaborations on the EP?

Yes, but we cannot let the cat out of the bag quite yet.

18. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began for this release?

No the goal was to create something different for our own personal library. After it was recorded and released we just took it from there.

19. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

A little more electronics but nothing out of the normal.

20. How has the vibe in the studio been going?

The vibe has been great.  Bouncing ideas off each other with much success.

21. When did you start writing for this release?

March 2013.

22. Did you feel any pressure whatsoever to do this release?

There wasn't any pressure to release any tracks until the 1st 3 tracks were released.  Now the demand is high and the pressure is on.

23. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new album? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

"Live Again", the song was written about all of the good things from our past, that we hold on to.  It seems most people hold on to that 1 good thing and believe nothing can surpass it.

24. When can we expect the new EP to be released?

December 10th 2013.

25. What are the biggest obstacles for bands?

At this point there doesn't seem to be any obstacles.

26. What advice would you give to fellow bands?

Stay true to yourself.  Write from the heart. Never give up.

27. What else can we expect to see from you guys?

Big things haha. We have huge plans for the upcoming new year. We've only just scratched the surface.

28. Anything else you'd like to add?

It's not about the size of the boat, it's about the motion in the ocean.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]