Surrender The Coast's Dan Coast's Right Along....

Hardcore metal rockers Surrender The Coast got their start and have not looked back!  Since forming they have written and recorded material which has lead to singles and EPs and even more material underway! Drummer Dan discusses the EP and more!

1. What type of band are you?

Dan: We're often described as 'Hardcore, with a southern rock vibe' I guess this is because we throw a lot of riffs in to the standard hardcore sound. This comes from influences such as 'Dead and Divine' and 'Every Time I Die.' To be honest we just write the kind of music we like to listen to! That way we feel we can't go too far wrong!

2. Tell us the brief history of your band and how did you get the name Surrender The Coast?

Dan: All of our members have been around the local music scene for a long time and many of us have played together in other bands, Surrender The Coast officially got together and first went into the studio in late 2009. However even since then we have had two line-up changes. As our current line-up we have been together and working hard for around 18 months. The name 'Surrender The Coast' was thought up by our guitarist Nick when on holiday in the south of England, although it has no direct meaning it is inspired by the D-Day landings in Normandy in 1944.

3. What are your songs about? (What specific themes do they cover?)

Dan: Most of our songs are written about how the writer is feeling at a particular time, for example 'Pulling Teeth' was written about how sometimes in a relationship with another person it feels as if one party is not pulling their weight, not putting in the same amount of effort, and how frustrating this is. In my opinion the great thing about the lyrics for that song is that most people can relate in some way. Another of our songs 'The Devil You Know' is based around the idea that sometimes our problems and pains in life can be caused by the people closest to us whether they realise it or not, and sometimes can even caused by ourselves. Again, i think most people can relate to this.

4. Do you write your own songs? (Discuss the songwriting process in detail.)

Dan: Yes, we write all of our own material. Our writing style can change from song to song, however for the most part the initial idea will be based around a single guitar part. From that, our Guitarist Dave will write other parts and construct and initial overall idea for the song and then bring it to the group. At that point we often make slight changes or modifications, all adding our own style to the song. Once the instrumentation is complete, lyrics are written.

5. Who are your musical influences?

Dan: Each of us have our own musical influences and these cover a huge range of styles and genres from the heaviest bands such as Emmure to conventional pop acts such as Ellie Goulding! The nice thing about this is we can all bring something different to the table. I always think it's painfully obvious when a whole band clearly takes inspiration from only a couple of artists. Having said that if I was to sum up our main influences i would go with 'Alexisonfire','Every Time I Die', 'Stray From The Path', and 'Vanna'.

6. What can you tell me about "Conscience".

Dan: Conscience is the second release from our 2013 Double A Side 'The Devil You Know / Conscience' which is available for free download from the video will be released via a BlankTV premiere on YouTube on 6th October 2013. We have had the song written for a while, it has undergone a few changes but felt the time had come to get it on general release. The song was written after a member of the band decided to leave, it was the second time we had gone through this so we were feeling very frustrated but we were determined not to give up, and to push forward, this can definitely be heard in the lyrics.

7. What are the plans for new music do you guys have anything in the works?

Dan: Towards the end of 2013 we plan to record our debut album, these songs may well feature on that, however nothing has been decided in regards to that, it really depends if we feel the tracks are up to the standard of the new album.

8. So what can you tell me about this new video you guys have coming out - what song did you pick and why was it chosen and what's the video about?

Dan: The new video is for 'Conscience' as this is the second release from the Double A Side. The video itself features a live performance from the band as well as a storyline of a boxer preparing for a fight. The reason this was storyline was chosen was to fit with the metaphor of fighting for what you believe in, and letting nothing stop you from working hard to achieve your dreams. We are all really happy with the video, and feel it is definitely our best yet, i urge people to check it out once it is released!

9. Where can we listen to your band and where can we buy your stuff?

Dan: Our main website is ;
Come and talk to us on Facebook ;
Our YouTube channel is ;

All of our material is on iTunes and Spotify.

10. What plans do you have for the near future as a band?

Dan: We have a busy end to the year planned including the recording of our album as well as a UK / Mainland Europe tour. We will keep on enjoying what we do and working as hard a possible!

11. Anything else you'd like to add?

Dan: Thanks to Natalie for the Interview, Thanks to you for reading! Help yourself to some free music at

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]