Magoa Are Noting BUT Animals!

France's metal titans Magoa are in the studio currently working on their debut full-length but for the time being vocalist Cyd discusses the band's latest EP "Animal" and how the process of recording, writing, and styling it came about.

1. What type of band are you?

Cyd: We're MAGOA, and we play brutal rock!

2. Tell us the brief history of your band.

Cyd: We started touring in 2011 with our first demo-album. Then in November 2012, we released our latest EP "Animal" which has really defined our new sound and image of the band.

3. Where are you from?

Cyd: The band is from Paris, France!

4. What's the music scene like and would you have any bands to recommend?

Cyd: In France the music scene has a lot of metal bands, but unfortunately the medias don't give them enough exposure. The good spots are hard to get!

5. What ís the origin of the band's name?

Cyd: In Portuguese, MAGOA means "to hurt". We liked that sense and how the word sounds!

6. Who are your musical influences?

Cyd: We love bands like Pantera, Slipknot, Strapping Young Lad, but also softer stuff like Nickelback, Papa Roach, and many hip-hop and electronic music artists!

7. Do you write your own songs? (Discuss the songwriting process in detail.)

Cyd: We do. Our drummer Martin often shows up with riffs, and we arrange them together. Then I (Cyd) write the vocals, and we record all the pre-productions at my place. The last step is Charles's, our producer, he works to make the best of every song and every band member!

8. What are your songs about? (What specific themes do they cover?)

Cyd: We often discuss about gaming, sex and extreme lifestyles, but always exaggerating situations. Some times I'm not having fun with metal when it gets too serious.

9. Tell me about the EP Animal.

Cyd: We wanted to show the new face of the band with this EP, and prepare the fans for the first real album. The critics were enthusiast and so were the fans, so we're really happy! It allowed us to play many gigs in France, and now we're working on the next release!

10. Where did the title come from and represent and is this a concept release?

Cyd: We wanted to make sure everybody understands that we're not a band of human beings but animals fighting for their freedom! Haha! We don't like how things are goin' right now, everything is politically too correct and we wanted them remember us. So the people listening to the band know that the way we act is based on our instincts first, which you can see in the pictures of me looking like an angry cat. Haha!

11. Do you guys have any new music in the works?

Cyd: A lot! We're currently in Los Angeles recording our next album with our producer "Kallaghan"! Everything is going great, and the tracks are gonna be sick ! We're really excited about it.

12. What are your upcoming plans for this year?

Cyd: Making this the best album possible! The release is planned for November 2013, so we'll have loads of work before then. We're also hoping to tour as much as we can right after!

13. What do you hope for in 2013?

Cyd: We're hoping that this new album will allow us to play as often as possible. Hopefully people will have as much fun listening to it that we're having recording it. And maybe we could hope for a US tour next year? ;) Thank you Natalie's World!!!!

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]