Atmospheric noise metal legends WILL HAVEN are set to return again with their sixth album, "Muerte" (Spanish for "death") on March 23rd 2018. "Muerte", will be WILL HAVEN’S first album with minus HEAD Records.

The origins of noise metal legends WILL HAVEN can be traced back to 1995, when they first emerged as a staple in Sacramento, CA's storied underground. For the past two decades-plus, they've existed on the fringe of extreme music - championing an apocalyptic amalgam of metal, noise, hardcore, and alternative all their own.

Spiral down into the heavy, atmospheric thickness of "Muert"e by sampling the first offering of new WILL HAVEN music now. Stream the six minute-plus epic, "El Sol", co-written and performed with guest guitarist Stephen Carpenter of Deftones, via Revolver now: https://www.revolvermag.com/music/hear-will-havens-epic-new-song-featuring-deftones-stephen-carpenter.

"If WILL HAVEN and Deftones had a kid, that's what it would sound like," Irwin says about "El Sol". "I was in my first band with Stephen. This was really a family thing. While we were in the studio, he sent us an email with an eight-minute song of all riffs. I added the spacey elements. Our vocalist, Grady, is reciting this famous poem about being kind to your fellow man and taking care of each other. Lyrically, it fits the times."

"Muerte" is available for pre-order now via Amazon HERE and Bandcamp HERE, with iTunes digital, PledgeMusic bundles and Spotify streaming becoming available very soon.

Throughout 2017, the members of WILL HAVEN secretly recorded Muerte at Pus Cavern Studios in Sacramento, CA with Joe Johnston engineering and co-producing alongside Irwin. They pieced together a corrosive, chaotic, and cohesive vision that never relents over its 11 tracks. Mastering was handled by Logan Mader (Devil You Know, Fear Factory, Periphery).

Irwin adds about recording "Muerte", "It felt like a rebirth. It sounds like a whole new band. There's a chemistry that only the four of us can achieve. Who knows what's next, but this is everything we were always meant to be on a record."

In the end, "Muert"e represents a milestone for WILL HAVEN as their most poignant, passionate, and powerful body of work to date.


1. Hewed With the Brand                 
2. Winds of Change             
3. Kinney                 
4. The Son               
5. 43           
6. No Escape (feat. Mike Scheidt of YOB)   
7. Unit K                 
8. Ladwig No. 949               
9. Bootstraps           
10. Now in the Ashes             
11. El Sol (co-written with/feat. Stephen Carpenter of Deftones)

WILL HAVEN will perform at four California shows and one Oregon show this spring, including a May run with Fake Figures. See below for all confirmed dates.


3/23 Sacramento, CA @ Holy Diver - Album release show $10 or $15 with signed CD
5/4 Fullerton, CA @ Programme Skate & Sound w/ Fake Figures
5/5 San Diego, CA @ Brick by Brick w/ Fake Figures
5/6 Hollywood, CA @ The Viper Room w/ Fake Figures
6/23 Portland OR @ Star Theater w/ Witch Mountain

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]