Blood Red Throne Gets Signed!

Candlelight Records is pleased to announce the signing of Blood Red Throne

Daniel “Død” Olaisen started his musical career in the legendary Norwegian black metal band Satyricon in 1996 at just 19 years of age when he joined as a live guitarist. Since 1993 Død had been writing death metal riffs and in 1998 he started working on material for his own death metal band and with his friend Tchort (Emperor, Carpathian Forest), who also played bass in Satyricon, Blood Red Throne was officially a born.

Shortly after, the young and talented bass player Erlend Caspersen was found and the search for a drummer and singer could start! After a while BRT got in touch with Freddy Bolsø; he was just the drummer they were looking for and the band could now begin rehearsing material.

A demo was soon recorded with Ronnie Thorsen from Trail of Tears on vocals which became ‘Deathmix 2000’. A deal with Hammerheart Records was then signed.

A debut album had to be recorded, but they still hadn't found a permanent singer. Just three weeks before entering studio, BRT asked long-time friend, Mr.Hustler to join the band, despite never having played in a band or done vocals ever before. But ‘Monument of Death’ became a fuckin' killer debut album, released in 2001! The limited edition included a package called 'The Suicide Kit', which not only contained the actual album, but also a printed razor blade and a poster. The kits were hand numbered in the band member's own blood!

Espen "Beist" Antonsen (The Sickening) replaced Freddy Bolsø on drums and the band recorded ‘Affiliated With The Suffering’ in 2002, playing a host of European festivals with it. Nothing lasts forever and Beist left the band when BRT were about to record their first album on Earache Records. With help from Bernt Moen they managed to record their darkest and most intense album, ‘Altered Genesis’, released in 2005. Soon after Vald replaced Mr. Hustler on vocals and Anders Haave became the new permanent drummer in time for a new European tour and the recording of fourth album, ‘Come Death’.

After more touring 2008 was devoted to the writing and recording of fifth album ‘Souls Of Damnation’. After this release, Tchort decided to have a break to focus on his family and work. Nevertheless, the band went out on their first headliner European Tour in October 2009 with Hate. Soon after the tour, Anders decided to leave the band and he was replaced by Swedish wonder boy, Emil Wiksten. Ivan "Meathook" Gujic also joined in 2010, at first as a session guitar player while Tchort still had his break, and within a year BRT went on tour with Dimmu Borgir and Enslaved across the states and Canada.

In 2011 new album ‘Brutalitarian Regime’ was released on US label Sevared Records. Unfortunately, Erlend Caspersen and Vald decided to leave BRT in October 2011. They were replaced by Ole Bent Madsen on bass guitar and Bolt on vocals in December of that year and the new line-up went back to Europe and toured with Suffocation in March 2012.

May 2013, marked Blood Red Throne’s 15th anniversary and seventh studio album, simply entitled ‘Blood Red Throne’ which was played on their headline European Tour in May/June that summer.

After playing this summer’s Bloodstock Open Air with great bands such as Down, Hellyeah, Megadeth and Emperor, Blood Red Throne signed to Candlelight Records. In December 2014 the band is going on their first headline tour of South America with a new album planned soon.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]