Dakota's Harley Stears Studio Progress

California metalcore act Dakota is a 5-piece who is in the studio working upon their upcoming EP release due out next year! Frontman vocalist Harley Stears discusses the EP's progress and what else we can expect to see from these guys!

1. So what can you tell me about this new EP?

Harley: There's a storm coming and it will be named, Alcoholocaust. Booze will be abused, Woman and children will cry themselves to sleep, and men will cower like spineless sheep to the wolves. Minds will be blown and jaws will be broken. So get ready to wake up with the gnarliest hangover of your lives, because its time to black out or get the fuck out, so show us those tits and stay fuckin lit.

2. What does the title Alcoholocaust mean?

Harley: Honestly, Its just something I came up with one night while sloppy hammered drunk. I kept stumbling around yelling, "I am the Alcoholocaust!!" haha. Oh, and its the only family appropriate title I could think of.

3. Is this EP going to be a concept release?

Harley: Yes, "Stay thirsty my friends."

4. Where are you in the recording process of the new EP?

Harley: We have the first 2 songs finished and recorded, while we have 2 more instrumentally written and about to be recorded. But we need a few more reckless evenings full of boobs in our faces to get inspired for the rest… so we'll probably write them all tonight. (.)(.)

5. Who is producing the EP?

Harley: All of our material and funding comes out of our own pockets. Also our sponsor Bill Cosby helps out a lot.

6. Where are you recording the EP?

Harley: We're recording with Nick Boteho of NB Recording in Santa Rosa, CA.

7. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began for this EP?

Harley: Yeah we did. It was to create music that required us to hand out Depends diapers at the door of every show… but you're listening at your own risk while listening at home. Remember kids, always double wipe!

8. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

Harley: You're going to be hearing a lot more electronic beeps and boops all up in there. But I don't want to give away too many surprises :)

9. How does this release differ, compare, and evolved from your previous release?

Harley: Well, we're dropping our tuning from A sharp to G sharp which is making our new stuff sound ridiculously heavy in comparison, and also including repeating choruses. So expect a much heavier and catchier version of anything we've done. Also much less serious and personal lyrically. We love that stuff, but its a thousand times more fun to just be yourself and say, "Fuck It" and "Fuck Off". My middle finger, Dick, and Liver have much more to say than my personal life right now haha. So lets rage it homies.

10. Did you feel any pressure to do a follow-up?

Harley: We're honestly the only ones pressuring ourselves. We've all finally gotten comfortable with one another musically and personally and we've grown tremendously as musicians. We just want the world to see it.

11. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new EP? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

Harley: "California Smiley" is the first track we wrote and we're filming a video for it later this month with Mark of the Bear Media. It's mainly just about a bar fight I was in a while back. And "Down For The D" is about getting a girl into your bed… the rest I leave to your imagination.

12. How is the vibe in the studio?

Harley: Booze, Blunts, and Bitches.

13. When can we expect the new EP to be released?

Harley: Beginning of next year, Get pumped.

14. What can the fans expect to see from you in the future?

Harley: Many Tours, Many Faded Memories, A music video, And possibly a controversial sex tape.

15. Where did the band get it's name and does it have a meaning behind it?

Harley: Dakota sounds badass and easy to remember.

16. Where is the band from?

Harley: We're Based out of SANTA ROSA CA, where there's nothing to do but headbang to metal, talk like a sailor, and party like Charlie Sheen.

17. What type of band are you guys?

Harley: Metalcore with a hip hop influence.

18. What are your songs about what themes do they cover?

Harley: The constant theme is to just be the life of the party and fuck the haters.

19. Who are some of your musical influences?

Harley: We listen to a lot of Gideon, Of Mice & Men, Attila, 2 Chainz, and Issues as of late.

20. Can I get a backstory on the band/ band biography?

Harley: One night, in a dark and gloomy bedroom, I began scanning the men seeking men section of Craigslist and there I found an elite force of booty bumpin and titty slappin mofuckahs. We united as one and took the streets aspiring to make metal history.

21. Is that your final answer?


Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]