August Rosenbaum Releases New Video for "Nomad (Solo Piano)" And Announces New EP "Vista"

Following the release of August Rosenbaum’s critically acclaimed album "Vista" (November 2017) the Danish pianist and composer is back with a new EP entitled "Rasa". The EP consists of 6 pieces for solo piano that laid the foundation for the music on Vista.

Now August Rosenbaum reveals the single "Nomad" alongside a stunning music video for the track. The music video, based on a fascination of the story of Jeanne D'arc, is packed with mystique and gorgeous imagery. It’s directed by Jasper Spanning who also directed the video for Vista’s “Credo, Pt. II” - shot in Copenhagen’s iconic Marble Church. August Rosenbaum has also announced new live dates including his first London-headline at Servant Jazz Quarters on May 1st. Tickets are on sale now.

August Rosenbaum describes the making of the new video: "After having worked together on the video for "Credo, Pt. II" we felt like exploring an approach that allowed the music to take on the form of a score. The minimalistic feel of the piano version of "Nomad" carves out room for the listener while adding a distinctive tone to the images."

Jasper Spanning continues: "August is an old friend and it has been a great pleasure to create these images for his music. It’s been a very close collaboration and I really feel that music and images merge into one expression. The project is very personal to me."

The upcoming EP "Rasa", consists of 5 songs from "Vista" arranged for solo piano plus the new song "Milo". August elaborates: "The piano is my starting point for everything when I make music, it has been my natural expression since I started playing at 6 years old, and it is how I hear, feel and create harmonies, chords and melodies. When making "Vista" with Robin (Hannibal), it became a dogma that underneath all the layers of detail, production and arrangement, there had to be a strong "core", a composition that could carry the emotion and intent when scraped down to only being played on the piano."

"Rasa" was recorded by August in an intense 3-hour long recording in L.A: "We had just finished a full week of tracking band recordings for "VISTA" in a small studio in Eagle Rock, Los Angeles. So the room was filled with all the music and effort Robin, I, the musicians and our engineer had put in - and at the same time it felt like we had given all we had in us. But I remember it made me so happy and thankful to have made it this far, so I asked the engineer to open the mics on the piano and let the tape roll. I ended up playing non stop for 3 hours, while the others sat in the room just listening. It was really intense and intimate at the same time", August explains.

Last year’s release of the album "Vista" put August Rosenbaum on the map as one of the most exciting rising composers. It’s a record of evocative and soulful music that brought together August Rosenbaum’s rich musical background in both jazz, classical music, film scoring and pop. Vista was written and produced in collaboration with Grammy-nominated producer Robin Hannibal who've worked with an impressive range of artists including Rhye, Little Dragon and Kendrick Lamar.

The music video for “Nomad” is created in collaboration with Prxjects - a culture laboratory initiated by Mercedes-Benz. Check it HERE.


1. Angelo (Solo Piano)
2. Belmondo (Solo Piano)
3. Nomad (Solo Piano)
4. Calling Out (Solo Piano)
5. Melville (Solo Piano)
6. Milo (Solo Piano)


April 19, 2018 - Tivoli, Copenhagen - DK (tickets)
May 01, 2018 - Servant Jazz Quarters, London - UK

Pre-order vinyl:
Pre-order digital:

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]