Inactive Messiah Goes On about Upcoming Release and More!

Throughout the course of their career metal was invaded by the darkness that is Inactive Messiah. By their formation they have played shows and recorded and written numerous releases and are on their third release to date which should be out soon enough. Guitarist and clean vocalist Thanos Jan talks of this third release and other activity the band has been currently up too.

1. What type of band are you?

Thanos: That 's kinda hard to describe. In general we don't like to categorize ourselves neither as persons nor as a band. We play music that express our feelings. Yes we are in the metal scene but we don't hesitate to expand our music exploring other styles and mixing it all together.

2. Tell us the brief history of your band.

Thanos: The band started at 2004 but we feel like we started at 2006 since before that the band sounded totally different and with a totally different line up. In 2006 we started working with Symphonic Orchestra as well and released "bE mY dRug" album that continued by many tours all over Europe. Two years later it was time for "Sinfull Nation" album to be released and we started promoting it with shows all over Europe once again but this time with bigger tours and festivals. That was the reason that we delayed a bit to enter the studio again. When we entered DevasoundZ Studios (owned by Inactive Messiah and Septic Flesh members) we thought that this time we have to experiment a little more. We also had some line up changes that delayed  the whole thing a bit more, we actually had to record the whole album twice since during the process we made some major adjustments to our songs. This however is the best period music wise we've ever had, as a three piece combo now.

3. Who are your musical and non-musical influences?

Thanos: Our musical influences is everything we listen at home, clubs, radio, street, online and we listen to a lot different stuff, we don't have something certain that we refer to as an influence. Same goes for our non-musical influences that are everything we feel, everything we live and everything we imagine.

4. Who writes the songs, what are they about?

Thanos: The songwriting is done by myself and Xristos. I bring some ideas on the studio and we work it together. The result some times turns out to be something totally different from the original idea and that's the best part. We go where our music leads us. Our songs are about what we feel at the moment, we try to transform our feelings into music and lyrics.

5. How did the band come to get the name, Inactive Messiah?

Thanos: That was years ago. It seemed a good idea at the moment. The guy who found the name though is not in the band anymore. He left shortly after we've formed but we had already released our first album so we continued like that. If I had to choose today I'm not sure that name would be that one.

6. Where is the band from and what is the music scene like there?

Thanos: The music scene here in Athens Greece is quite big. Everyday many new bands are rising and many of them are really good. The bad thing is that the average citizen music wise listens to shit but our scene gets stronger day by day.

7. Tell me about the new album.

Thanos: This time we've taken our music definitely to the next level. Our hear and soul in our performance enriched with the Philmharmonic Orchestra of Prague and guest electronic DJs for a new twist. Nine songs this time but with a huge diversity. You can hear the most extreme stuff we've ever written but as well the most soft and sometimes with parts and experiments that we've never tried before. Produced by Inactive Messiah this will be without a doubt our best and darkest work so far.

8. What inspired the album title? Is it a concept album?

 Thanos: I cannot say a lot about that just yet. It is not a concept album but I cannot reveal the title and talk about it.

9. How’s the mixing going?

Thanos: Mixing is going really well. Among with Fotis Benardo (Septic Flesh) bexind the mixing desk we have reached the exact sound that we need for this creation of ours. Sounds really strong massive and dark.

10. How would you say the new album compares to your previous records?

Thanos: This is something totally different and for sure one step further. It 's the first time that we've worked so many years and so united as a band. The reactions that we've had from everyone that have heard some samples so far tells us the same. Full of melodies and feelings, full of passion, full of intense moments full of darkness.

11. Who is producing the album? How has the producer aided the recording process?

Thanos: The production has done exclusivelly by myself and Xristos, Fotis Benardo however is the one who mixes it but everything else from songwriting to engineering was done by us. That's one more reason that this album is so Inactive Messiah.

12. What’s the writing and recording process for you?

Thanos: It's simple. We enter DevasoundZ Studios, we sit in front of the computer and we let our ideas flow till we have something that we are excited about. Then when we conclude to the song and it's form we go for the next one. After we 're done with the pre-production we enter DevasoundZ again for the recordings this is where we change the details and we 're getting our music to a whole new level.

13. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began for this album?

Thanos: Our goals are always the same. Express ourselves through our music in the best way we can.

14. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

Thanos: As of instrumentation no but it's the first time we've worked with electronic DJs/Producers. This was definitely a challenge and it went better than expected.

15. Are there any surprises on the album?

Thanos: If there are I won't spoil it. Wait till it will be released to get surprised.

16. Are there any collaborations on the album?

Thanos: We've collaborated with the Philmharmonic Orchestra of Prague and I can say the result is grandiose. It 's an orchestra that is perfect for our music. Besides that we have also collaborated with Christian Cambas for some massive electronic parts in two of our songs and with Pierrot (Virgins O.R Pigeons) in one more.

17. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new album? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

Thanos: I cannot reveal any details yet but it's extreme, groovy, melodic, massive, passionate and above everything DARK.

18. How has the vibe in the studio been going?

Thanos: We are really excited, we have never had a better vibe I thing. The result is way better than expected when we've started. We can't wait to finish mixing and release.

19. When can we expect the new album to be released?

Thanos: That will probably be around fall/winter 2013.

20. What can the fans expect to see from you in the future?

Thanos: The band in its better shape ever. Darkness is coming.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]