Huron Studio Talk of New Music

Huron are a metal band from the UK and with their explosive live shows are a result of several years on the road, and working up to the big stages, touring with and opening for such legendary acts as SKINDRED, ONSLAUGHT, EVILE, ALESTORM, ILL NIÑO, VIKING SKULL and many more. The band talks about themselves and plans for the future.

1. What type of band are you guys?

Huron are a modern,melodic,progressive metal band with splashes of death metal thrown in for good measure.

2. Where is the band from?

Plymouth, Devon, UK.

3. How did the band get it's name?

Sean our vocalist read "The Last Of The Mohicans" as a child and the story of the Huron nation with their ferocious, brutal nature but proud togetherness left a huge impression on him.

4. Do you write your own songs, what are your songs about?

Yes we always write our own songs, we write about current things in everyday life, war, religion, drugs, violence but we also write about literature like Brave New World and mass murderer Carl Panzram.

5. Who are some of your musical influences?

Arch Enemy,Metallica, Down, Black Dahlia Murder, Alice in Chains, Mastodon, Machinehead etc.

6. So what can you tell me about this new album?

The new album "The Dead Stay Dead" is our fourth studio release, the artwork has been designed by comic book artist MarK Rudolph who has worked with bands like Napalm Death, Orange Goblin, Mercyful Fate and also magazines like Metal Hammer and Decibel Magazine. As for the songs themselves we've really let our hair down on this project, we've not stuck to a repetitive song structure like verse, chorus, verse but we've allowed the music to dictate the structure and we are  very pleased how its sounding.

7. What title did you decide to go with it and is there a meaning behind it?

We went with  the title "The Dead Stay Dead" because we are atheists in the band and we wanted a title that sounded interesting and would get people asking why we called it that.Some people believe in reincarnation some the afterlife our title kinda puts straightens things out. Giving people a point of discussion before they've heard your album has always been our goal with this project and we think the title is a talking point and this also reflects in the titles of the tracks.

8. Is this album going to be a concept release?

Well weve certainly not set out with that agenda I suppose its down to the listener and how they percieve it.

9. Where are you in the recording process of the new album?

We are nearly ready to send the album to the USA for mastering.

10. Who is producing the album? How has the producer aided the recording process?

The album will have a couple of names  with producing  credits, Rimmy Sinclair our guitarist and world famous producer "Machine" who's worked with top international acts like Lamb Of God, White Zombie, Clutch to name just a few will be having the final say on the mastering of the album which we are thrilled at having him on this project.

11. Where are you recording the album?

The album is being recorded mostly at our home studio here in Plymouth.

12. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began for this album?

Yes we did and that was to make the best album we possibly could! no fillers just killers. Conformity is something we always struggle with and what people expect from  us as a band so the target was to write the
songs that came naturally, be ourselves and keep it real.

13. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

Yes we are using samples for the first time, so many bands use them and to be honest I myself had doubts about the whole process but I have been amazed at how they have turned out, we've always gone with the method of "Sometimes less is more" but in this instance its given the album new emotions and depths it never had before.

14. When did you start writing for this album? How was the songwriting process different/similar to previous Huron releases?

We started writing about 8 months ago with just bits and pieces here and there and then in January we went into full pre-production it feels like alot longer to be honest because so much work has gone into this project alot more so than our previous releases. This album was always going to be different than the rest because we've used our home studio to do the majority of the recording usually we camp out in a studio and pay ridiculous amounts of money for "dead time" so this project has worked in our favor with it being cheaper and we have had more control over the way we've wanted to record it.

15. Did you feel any pressure to do this release?

Yes we did but not in a way that it came from a force outside of the band like from management or media, the force (which was a positive one) came from within the band, we have had a couple line up changes over the previous 18 months and with new members comes new sounds and influences so with the new line up we wanted to get the new Huron sound out there asap!

16. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new album? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

Sure! Ok the opening track of the album is called "Ark Of Deulacion" its a story about a Greek man who upset the gods and they sent a flood so he built an ark to save himself and his family... Sound familiar? and I think this story pre dates Noah by a 1000 years or more. The reason for the track is not to upset religious people but more to get people thinking about how stories and legends develop over the years and how they are borrowed and altered to suit certain cultures needs.

17. How is the vibe in the studio?

Has its moments  where we cross swords on certain arrangements but we all get along famously and the feeling is a relaxed and happy one.

18. When can we expect the new album to be released?

Ok the album has a penciled for a world wide release date of October 5th 2013.

19. What can the fans expect to see from you in the future?

Expect a collection of new video's promoting the new album, plus more promoting in the USA, Canada and Asia and also a follow up to our last release "War Party-Red" with an early 2014 release of "War Party II-Blue". You can hook with Huron at the following websites:

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]