Darkc311's J. "Jesse" Dracman Talks Of His Exorcism

Soul crushing beats, powerhouse industrial grooves, topped with a layer of dirty rock'n'roll swagger - this only begins to describe the musical juggernaut that is DARKC3LL. The debut album REBOOT : REPEAT (RTD Records/Rocket Distribution) offered a soundtrack that pushed the boundaries in a scene currently plagued by mediocrity and commercialism. Packed with stadium level hooks and industrial flavoured anthems, their debut will leave listeners wanting more…

Now, the band is gearing up to release their second album, due in September 2013 released via RTD Records/Rocket Distribution. Before its release, two singles have been lifted from the forthcoming album; Six Hundred & Six Six (released 12 December 2012) and Exorcist (released 5 July 2013).

Having shared the stage with Wednesday 13, Combichrist, Hanzel und Gretel and Otep, DARKC3LL is known for putting on a show that will keep audiences hooked from beginning to end.

1. Please tell us about the history of your band and its members.

Jesse: Darkc3ll is primarily Post Mortem Matt & myself. Matt & myself have worked together on various projects in the studio, and wanted to challenge ourselves with the music we had always aspired to create. This band is the result, and  after some trial and error we are the band we have always envisioned. Rit Derelict (Bass) & Jay Macabre (Drums) help us bring the dream alive.

2. Where is the band based out of and what is your music scene like there? Are there any local bands you could recommend?

Jesse: We're based in Brisbane, Queensland, but we're from various parts of the state. The music scene is like any. It has it's moments of greatness, and not so great. Brisbane has many a great band, and honestly too many to mention.

3. Why did you want to go and call yourselves Darkc3ll?

Jesse: Why not? We felt the name best suited the music we were making and the overall vibe we wanted to generate. And we're creatures of the night! Mwahahahaha!!

4. How would you describe your style? Which bands influenced your music?

Jesse: We have been best described as Powerhouse Industrial Rock, because people say we pack a massive punch live! We love Goth/Industrial/Electro/Rock/Metal, and celebrate our passion in the music we make. We don't really like to be pigeon holed, but for the sake of the general public, we roll with that description of our music. We have many influences, and have no shame in saying bands like NIN, Manson, Zombie, Wednesday 13, Static-X, Dope, Rammstein, Dopestars Inc, Skold, KMFDM, Ministry, KISS, Motley Crue, Korn and so many others rock our crazy world.

5. What lyrical theme do you guys use in your music? What message do you want to send?

Jesse: Ours is one that is open to interpretation. What I may believe, might not the case for others, so I try not to dwell too deeply on the in depth nature of the lyrics. But in a nutshell, many of the songs are confessionals, and observations of the darkness within and a world not so glamorous. I personally deal with matters of anti-control against hypocrisy and moral standards and social etiquette's, that does not need apply to all who don't need to. The message, although may come across as dark and hate inspired, tends to deviate between light & dark. There is a positive energy in there, and many have come to me telling me so, which is fantastic! I want people to feel alive listening to our music, and get excited with energy and enthusiasm. Let the darkness within...

6. How has the band’s sound evolved from Reboot Repeat to Six Hundred & Six Six  and Exorcist?

Jesse: Greatly! We learned quite a lot from the Reboot:Repeat sessions and tours afterwards, and quickly gained ideas on how to take the next step. Matt as a producer is always pushing himself, learning new techniques and gaining new ideas in the studio that we've been very fortunate to utilize. Together we learned a great deal about crafting memorable songs and wanted to show evolution in the new material. We've achieved what we consider an even bigger sound in our music, and vocally, I have challenged myself to sing with even more conviction. You can never learn enough.

7. How would you say Reboot Repeat, Six Hundred & Six Six, and the Exorcist compare and differ from one another?

Jesse: I would say, both connect on a anti-religion level, based strictly on the rebellion against a force fed, hypocritical system, that people should be allowed to express their feelings based on their personal beliefs and not by a flawed system.

8. Where are you in the recording process of the new album?

Jesse: Getting ready to unleash is where we're at!

9. Who is producing the album? How has the producer aided the recording process?

Jesse: Post Mortem Matt is the Producer/Engineer & I'm co-producer also. We know the sound we want and it's a formula that's worked effectively for us to date.

10. Where are you recording the album?

Jesse: RTD Studios in Queensland, Australia.

11. This new album will be released via RTD Records/Rocket Distribution how did you come to get signed with this label and how as the relationship been with them thus far?

Jesse: RTD Records is our own label and as an independent artist, this gives us that freedom and control for this stage of development.

12. How would you describe the overall sound of the new album? How does it compare to Reboot Repeat?

Jesse: EPIC!!!!

13. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began for this album?

Jesse: To make bigger sounds and show we are no one trick pony. If anything, we wanted to make an album that is a step up.

14. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

Jesse: Jay Macabre is an amazing drummer and was the missing link. We are now complete.

15. When did you start writing for this album? How was the songwriting process different/similar to previous Darkc3ll releases?

Jesse: Mid to late last year after the Wednesday 13 tour. The process has been similar. If it isn't broken, don't fuck with it!

16. Reboot Repeat was a success. Do you feel any pressure to follow it up?

Jesse: None. We just wanted to get something new out. The only pressure is getting it out there asap.

17. Are there any surprises or collaborations on the album?

Jesse: That, you will have to wait and see. The surprises are all in the new songs you get to hear!

18. When can we expect the new album to be released?

Jesse: Later this year. We promise!

19. Where is this new material headed?

Jesse: In a bold and exciting direction. To infinity and beyond!

20. What plans do you guys have lined up for the rest of this year?

Jesse: Release, tour, tour, and more!

21. Any final words of wisdom?

Jesse: We cannot thank our fans enough for their overwhelming support and enthusiasm for all we do. It has been an amazing ride so far, so saddle up and get ready for even more!

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]