Civil Youth's Mike Focuses on the Bigger Tours and More!

Alternatives Civil Youth have released a cover song of Taylor Swift's track "...Ready For It?" that has been making quite the buzz since its release. Aside from that they did release an album titled "Conversations", with them always writing away so new music should not be far off. But their main focus currently is to get on the road going off on some touring treks that is where it is at for these guys at least. Keyboardist/vocalist Michael Kepko or Mike discusses with us, this cover track, the album, and touring plans!

1. Please tell us about the history of your band and its members.

Mike: Well we started in 2015 when I (Mike) was living in Boston, MA going to college. After writing the first album, something wasn't right up there so I dropped out and moved back home where I recruited Dan and Evan, through friends of friends, to join the band.

2. What’s the origin of the band’s name?

Mike: It's derived from The Civil Defense organization, but with a mental health awareness twist.

3. Where is the band based out of and what is your music scene like there? Are there any local bands you could recommend?

Mike: We're from Philly which is sick because there's so many great venues and bands to play with here. Some just in Philly are Leo Moon, Moral Support, & Andorra.

4. How would you describe your style?

Mike: An alternate alternative. It's energetic and pop oriented with hints of post-hardcore. I guess?

5. Why did you decide upon recording a cover of Taylor Swift's "....Ready For It?" How has the response been towards this track, has Taylor herself responded in any fashion?

Mike: We were gonna record the first single she put out but this one came out the day we were hitting the studio and it was much better in our opinion so we switched last minute. People have really been loving the new cover which just got added to Spotify and such so go check it!

6. How would you describe "Conversations" as a whole?

Mike: Coming to grips with how we've changed over the years and to embrace what we will become.

7. Whilst this album that is "Conversatins", has been out for a while, have you guys been working on anything new?

Mike: We're always writing music, but we're really focused on bigger tours at the moment!

8. What plans do you have for the future as a band?

Mike: Bigger tours! Lol!

9. Where can we listen to your band and where can we buy your stuff?

Mike: Literally anywhere you prefer to stream or download music, it's there.

10. Do you have anymore shout outs to give?

Mike: Shouts to Akon.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]

Contact Form


Email *

Message *