Fight The Machine Fights Like No Tomorrow!

Fight The Machine once known as Stretford End went ahead and changed their name to find something more suitable. With that they went on to record and write all new music for their new EP. The band caught up with me to discuss the band's new change and all new music we can be expecting to see from here on out.

1. So why did you decide to change the band's name to Fight The Machine?

Alexander (Lead Vocals, Guitar): We changed the name because of trademark infringement with Manchester United, and also because well felt that this name suited the direction we wanted to take the band in.

Prentice: We constantly were called: Stepford Wives.

Joey: Stretford End didn't sound fitting for us after a while.

2. What does this name represent for the band what does it symbolize?

Alexander: Fight The Machine means resisting forces that attempt to impede your development as a human being, be they government legislation, societal constructs, ignorance, hate, what-have-you.

3. Is everyone in the band still the same or did you get some new members?

Alexander: I sing and play guitar, Joey Jane plays the bass and Prentice Daggs plays the drums.

Prentice: I agree with this.

Joey: We are the same people different direction, attitude, sound, and look

4. Who are your musical influences?

Alexander: Green Day, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars, Our Lady Peace.

Prentice: Gloria Estefan, Celine Dion, Rick Springfield, Eddie Money, Andrea Bocelli

Joey: Motley Crue, Guns n Roses, Green day, and a lot of other shit in between.

5. Who writes the songs, what are they about?

Alexander: We all write the music, I write the lyrics. What the song is about depends on the song, they're not all about one thing.

Prentice: Siri and the IPhone 4s writes all the tunes

Joey: Justin Bieber and I meet up every Friday with Rebecca Black for writing sessions, then i bring the out come to Alex and Prentice.

6. Tell me about your EP "The Assayer" what does the title mean and is this a concept release?

Alexander: The title is a reference to a paper that Galileo wrote disputing one of his colleagues theories, a theory that turned out to be correct. The title means even great people can be wrong, can make poor decisions.

Prentice: I come from a land down under.

Joey: To me its a heavy hitting list of songs full of emotion and energy.

7. How would you describe the overall sound of this new EP?

Alexander: Poignant.

Prentice: Like a flock of seagulls flew over the cuckoo's nest and landed on Chuck Norris's door step.

Joey: Platinum.

8. Did the band have any definitive goals they were shooting for before the recording process began for this release?

Alexander: We were attempting to construct a space/time device capable of creating the perfect espresso.

Prentice: I wanted to replicate the sound of Britney Spears first record.

Joey: I would say this E.P. is pretty organic. We really came together and the three of us wrote, and this is the outcome.

9. Are you using any new instrumentation you've never used in the recording process before?

Alexander: Yeah, I got to use a vibraphone.

Prentice: Programmed drums. I actually didn't play anything on this record.  They are ALL PROGRAMMED.

Joey: Johnny Christ's bass from Avenged Sevenfold used on the song Almost Easy.

10. When did you start writing for this EP? How was the songwriting process different/similar to previous Stretford End releases?

Alexander: We're always writing. This band is different for me because we all collaborate on the music.

Prentice: LIES! I write everything!

Joey: I believe most of these songs came together about a year ago

11. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new EP? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

Alexander: There's actually no track called "The Assayer", so I'll tell you about "The Peasants", which is a hard, loud and fast song about the state of consumerism in developed society and those who benefit from it.

Prentice: "Cannibal" is a very hard hitting; groove oriented track with great melodies and hooks. It came about about 1.5 years ago when I was warming up on the drums in the rehearsal room to a top 40 pop song. Alex came up with the guitar riff, and from there the lyrics and music were constructed by the end of rehearsal. It came together very fast.

Joey: Calling out Love is a personal favorite, its a very heart felt track that i think any listener can relate to

12. What inspires you to do what you do?

Alexander: Other musicians, and authors.

Prentice: People magazine, US weekly, E! Online, TMZ, Gossip Magazine, etc...

Joey: Money, Drugs, Fast cars, Playboy Models, Strippers...

13. What advice would you give to fellow bands?

Alexander: Keep practicing.

Prentice: Don't trust ANYONE that says "I can make you famous"

Joey: To be a unit, look out for the greater good of your band rather than focusing on just yourself.

14. What else can we expect to see from Fight The Machine?

Alexander: An impressive display of jousting.

Prentice: Joey has a sexy-time tape coming out this fall…it will be pretty interesting.

Joey: I'd like to think an excellent live show that keeps you wanting more. Other than that progression, progression, progression

15. Anything else you'd like to say or add?

Alexander: Like us at

Prentice: Remember to have your pets spayed or neutered.

Joey: I love you Dakota Fanning!

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]