Prospect Talks of New Music, Gigs, and More!

Rock n' rollers PROSPECT have a debut album out, with a follow-up album out this summer! With that to come soon, the band will also have some time to play with some gigs lined-up for the fall! The band talks of this and more below.

1. Please tell us about the history of your band and its members.

The band was started as a project in a town named Steinkjer in Trøndelag. Kenneth was originally a drummer, but was getting sick and tired of looking for vocalists; so he became one himself. The band went through various phases and genres. Eventually we became an energetic hard rock band, even though every member used to be a metal head (and still is at heart). We had a few changes in the roster, but now we feel like we’re a big family.

Kenneth (The Diva) - Lead Vocals

Odd Peder (The Hulk) - Drums

Eivind (The Moneymaker) - Lead Guitar

Magnus (The New Guy) - Rhythm Guitar

Andreas (The Mom) - Bass

2. What’s the origin of the band’s name?

In the darkest of dark, where only the dead dwell, it was named. Four tired and sweaty individuals sat down in a Backroom Casting-type of couch to discuss the meaning of life and music. Words were not shared easily that night, for these sayings are not for the faint of heart. Through the mist of moisture and smoke of terrible coffee, the silence was broken: “Prospect”. And so it was named. One band to rule them all. One band to find them. One band to bring them all. And in the darkness bind them. In the land of Verdal, where shadows lie.

3. Where is the band based out of and what is your music scene like there? Are there any local bands you could recommend?

We’re based out of Verdal, Norway. About 90 km north of Trondheim. It’s a small town, with lots of culture and historic significance. Though, not the biggest music scene when it comes to our type of music. But if we travel a few more kilometers north to Steinkjer, there’s a busting punk scene. There’s a yearly punk festival, and a lot of local heroes doin’ their thing. Check out “Astmatisk Gapskratt” for some local punk! We’ve also gotten to know the underground metal scene in Trondheim after all our gigs there. There’s this one band that really stands out in my opinion, and that is “Artwork of Hate”, go check them out! I would also like to mention our friends in “The Federation”, from Fosen. We’ve made a playlist on spotify to showcase all the wonderful local bands we have here in our neck of the woods, called “Tøndelag Rock og Metal”.

4. How would you describe your style?

Energetic is often the first word that comes to mind when people describe us, and we agree. We like to combine old school and modern rock ‘n’ roll. We take inspiration from lots of places, but mainly from bands such as AC/DC, Airbourne, Guns n’ Roses, Mötley Crüe, Skid Row, Slash and so on. We like to make music that’s catchy, groovy, makes you want to move and sing along. Basically music that you can feel throughout your whole body, and let’s you break free for a little while.

5. What have you released so far and what can someone expect from your works?

In 2019 we self published our first album “Rock ‘n’ Roll Beats & Electric Guitars”, with 8 songs of pure rock ‘n’ roll. As the title suggests, it’s gonna be rockin’ drum beats, and cool guitar riffs. But there’s no shortage of wild guitar solos, or screams reaching high places. The voice of our lead singer is one of the things that stands out and makes Prospect, Prospect. The album landed a spot on Sleaze Roxx’s “Top 10 Albums of 2019”.

6. Do you have any new music in the works?

Our new album “All Bets Are Off” is set for release on August 13th, published by Rob Mules Records. On June 18th we released the first and only single of the album: Blame it on the Booze. The single was accompanied by a music video, which is available on our Facebook and YouTube-channel. But who’s to say.. Maybe we’re already working on new material.

7. How about playing shows and touring, have anything planned out?

Well, the whole pandemic situation suddenly put a stop to most of that. But it looks like there’s light at the end of the tunnel, and we have a few gigs planned for the fall. And for the release of our new album, we’re playing on one of the most famous stages in Trondheim: Rockheim.

8. What plans do you have for the future as a band?

Our ambition is to reach out to as many places in the world as possible and to leave a hard hitting, mind blowing, ear buzzing and entertaining trail behind as we go.

9. Where can we listen to your band and where can we buy your stuff?

Our music is available on all the major streaming services, and can be bought digitally wherever music is sold digitally. As for physical copies, just hit us up on Facebook or by email. We have CD’s of our first album, but the new album will be on vinyl and sold through our Record Label.

10. What is it you’d like a listener to remember the most when hearing your music for the first time?

That we’re here to rock your socks off, so don’t tie your shoes too tight.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]