I Woke The Colossus's Damian Talks Debut Material and Plans for the Year!

Wollongong, NSW, Australia has got some death metal/metalcore lingering around called I Woke The Colossus. Since starting the band has set goals and been writing, writing, writing, new material for their upcoming debut EP release due out soon. Vocalist Damian talks about the EP process as well as how the band came about and where they are headed.

1. What type of band are you?

Damian: We don't like to label ourselves, so at the moment we're just a band that play heavy melodic music.

2. Where is the band from?

Damian: We're from a town called Wollongong, which is in NSW, Australia.

3. Where did the name, I Woke The Colossus come from and mean?

Damian: Well I wish we could say that we had a cool story like we were walking through a forest and actually woke a colossus but, it just came together by us brainstorming names.

4. What are your songs about?

Damian: Hmm, at the moment, the lyrical content is pretty much about how much humanity is fucking the earth haha.

5. Do you write your own songs?

Damian: Yeah, all our songs are our own, written by us and currently recorded by us.

6. Your currently writing music for your upcoming EP can you discuss the song writing process for us?

Damian: At the moment it's a bit of everything really, we sit down and jam with each other while we're at practice, sometimes its just one of us that has an idea, writes it down, shows the rest of us and we work around it. We're actually really collaborating on this stuff, which is really good for a young band like us.

7. When will you be entering the studio to begin recording?

Damian: We're hoping to hit the studio by mid/late this year, well that's the plan anyways.

8. Have you picked a title for the EP and is this going to be a concept release?

Damian: At the moment everything is really up in the air about it, so we're still in the process of choosing it
all and getting it all together.

9. How many songs will be on it?

Damian: We're hoping to put about 4/5 songs on the EP.

10. Can you go into one or two tracks on the new EP? If so, can you give us the track title and brief description of how the track sounds and how it came about?

Damian: Like I said before at the moment, it's all up in the air, but at the moment, I can definitely tell you
it sounds heavy and melodic, I had a friend sit in on one of our practices and he can't his finger on what
we sound like which I personally think is a good thing, because we are going for something different.

11. When can we expect the new EP to be released?

Damian: We're looking at releasing it mid/late this year as well.

12. What are the plans you guys have for this year?

Damian: Playing as many shows as we can and getting as tight as we can, hopefully make some new contacts all over the world and see where it all takes us. :)

13. Anything else you'd like to say or add?

Damian: We'll be releasing another demo track or two that's already written soon, so keep an eye out and like us on Facebook!

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]

Contact Form


Email *

Message *