Die To Exist Shall Not Fail in NEW Interview

Hardcore metallers Die To Exist have got an EP out entitled "Maybe We Should Fail" with this release comes a group of dudes that want to get out and make music that they can call their own. That is exactly what they have done and percuionssist and backing vocals Quinn Schroeder discusses in it all.

1. So what type of band are you and who does what in the band?

Quinn: We like to call ourselves a Metal/Metalcore band, but would not limit ourselves to any specific genre. Our goal is to always try new things and be creative, while still making heavy music.

Braden Schroeder – Guitar and Scream Vocals
Quinn Schroeder – Drums and Clean Vocals
Brien Cosgrove – Guitar and Backing Vocals
Jerry McNerney – Bass and Backing Vocals

2. What can you tell me about your EP "Maybe We Should Fail" what does the title represent and what can we expect to hear on this release?

Quinn: Our EP “Maybe We Should Fail” was released and the end of 2011 before we had played any shows. We wanted to have something solid that could represent us from the beginning. The meaning behind the title is somewhat sarcastic. We are going to make the music that we want to make, and that we enjoy making. Of course we want to be successful, but we know that every step we take will be a risk, and maybe it won’t work out. It’s good to have a sense of humor when you know that people are either going to love you or hate you.

3. What is your music background?

Quinn: All of us have been in different bands in the past and love music. My brother (Braden) and I have been playing together for 10 years now, and have always focused on getting better at what we do. Braden has a degree in Audio Engineering, so he and I spent a long time putting the EP together ourselves. We then teamed up with Brien and Jerry, and at that point the band was solidified.

4. Why do you want to record and release your own music?

Quinn: It’s nice to have control of the final product. Our goal is to make our visions a reality. We can work with whatever budget we have, and there is no set date to have everything finished. The freedom is great!

5. What are your songs about? (What specific themes do they cover?)

Quinn: We are big on keeping our music open to interpretation. Each song has a different feel, and a different story that it is trying to tell. The lyrics come from past experiences, stories, or anything else that might inspire us.

6. Do you write your own songs? (Discuss the songwriting process in detail.)

Quinn: We write all of the music that we record ourselves. A lot of the preliminary writing is done using MIDI programs on a computer, which then get translated into what you hear on our recordings. This is probably our number one approach for songwriting, but you never know where an idea will come from. We have written songs in the past where we scrapped everything but the drumming and then restructured something fresh around that. It’s always cool for us to see things evolve in an unexpected way.

7. Who are your musical influences?

Quinn: It’d be hard to pinpoint specifics; we all have varied tastes in music. We are inspired everyday by different artists from different genres. Ideas can come from anywhere, even from things you normally wouldn’t like. I could say that bands like Pantera, Nirvana, Megadeath, and Avenged Sevenfold are all big influences from when we were younger.

8. How do you describe your music to people?

Quinn: It is heavy, but with elements of a lot of different genres. We incorporate a lot of breakdowns and a lot of melody. Samples are also a big part of our sound. We try to be creative and unique with everything we do.

9. What image do you think your music conveys?

Quinn: We try to convey a positive image through negativity. (If that makes sense) Music is the best therapy, and we hope that everyone can find their own personal meanings in each of our songs.

10. Have you written any new material for your debut full-length?

Quinn: We have quite a few songs in the works right now. We plan on releasing a single this summer, and then have a full release out by the end of the fall.

11. What about shows or touring have anything in the works?

Quinn: Right now we are playing shows close to home so that we can keep working on some new material, but the possibilities for us in the future are endless.

12. What else can we expect from you guys this year?

Quinn: Some new music and some great shows, we are all about entertaining. We will also have a music video out very soon….

13. Anything else you'd like to say or promote?

Quinn: Anyone can download our debut single “All Trick, No Treat” for free from www.reverbnation.com/dietoexist. The link can also be found on our Band Profile tab on our Facebook page.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]