Bloodhunter Discusses New Album, Releases and Touring Plans!

Intensely heavy metallers BLOODHUNTER have released an array of content, including an all new album out real soon. The band  discusses said releases, and what they have planned with touring and more below.

1. Please tell us about the history of your band and its members.

BLOODHUNTER is an extreme metal band born in Galician lands (Spain) in 2008 from the hand of sole founding member and main songwriter, DANI ARCOS. After several changes in their lineup and concept, DIVA SATANICA joined the band in 2012, whose guttural vocal assault helped drift the band into more extreme territories.

They released a demo called THE FIRST INSURRECTION in 2013, garnering good reviews from the specialized media.

Their self-titled full-length album was released in May 2014, produced by DANIEL CARDOSO and PEDRO MENDES at ULTRASOUND STUDIOS. Eleven tracks that include updated versions of the 3 songs already present in the demo, as a result of a journey from the instinct that expresses the essence of this band: its versatility.

MARIOS ILIOPOULOS, founding member of the Death Metal band NIGHTRAGE, contributes the typical passion of a south European guitarist adorned by the subtlety of the Gothenburg school of playing, creating a magnificent guitar solo for the song “Bring Me Horror” which fits perfectly with the concept of the band. “Embrace the Dark Light” and “Dying Sun” video clips were released in June 2014 and October 2015 respectively in order to push the album through the internet.

This album has been distributed physically in many countries around the world such as Japan, USA, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, Spain, Portugal, UK, Germany, Sweden, France, among others.

In the Summer of 2015, their lead guitarist DANI ARCOS won the chance to participate in the “100 GUITARS FROM HEL” event, traveling to Finland in order to play an entire 30-minute piece with guitar shredder ALEXI LAIHO from CHILDREN OF BODOM, SAMY ELBANNAN from LOST SOCIETY and ARCHIE CRUZ from SANTA CRUZ among others. 

Later, the band would open for bands like Hemdale, Holy Moses, Avulsed, Ancient Rites, Rise to Fall or Aposento, before joining Nightrage (Sweden) and Methedras (Italy) on their first weeklong Spanish trek called "THE BLOODY TOUR".

DIVA SATANICA participated in the TV Show “The Voice”, surprising the coaches by singing, screaming and growling, being the first contestant to perform this type of singing. The international artist JUANES chose her to be part of his team, where she performed songs like “Sweet Dreams”, “Eye of the Tiger” or Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance”.

THE END OF FAITH is the second full-length album of the band, produced by ÁLEX CAPPA and BLOODHUNTER at THE METAL FACTORY STUDIOS, which contains ten new tracks and a Crystal Mountain's Death cover where you can hear DIVA SATANICA's new broad vocal range. This album is the natural evolution of the band playing extreme metal without neglecting guitar melodies. “All These Souls Shall Serve… Forever!” is the cover letter of this album.

During the presentation of the album they participate in some of the main summer festivals of Spain like RESURRECTION FEST, LEYENDAS DEL ROCK, ROCK THE COAST and OTERO BRUTAL FEST among others, sharing the stage with bands such as Children of Bodom, At the Gates, Entombed, Suffocation… and other legendary bands like Rainbow, Megadeth or KISS.

In September 2018 they release a new videoclip which contains a cover of Helloween’s “I Want Out”. LEO JIMENEZ, the best heavy metal Spanish singer, collaborates in this song with his spectacular voice.

During 2020, BLOODHUNTER released a reissue of their first album with new artwork. This reissue included 6 live bonus tracks recorded in Madrid during THE TOUR OF FAITH (2018-2019).

The band has released “A Twist of Fate to Come” and “The Forsaken Idol” from their 3rd full-length album named KNOWLEDGE WAS THE PRICE will be published on May 27, 2022.

2. What’s the origin of the band’s name?

I was thinking about a name related to blood-something and Diva Satanica suggested the something to be “hunter”, so we thought about a story related to the name, which is the song Bloodhunter.

3. Where is the band based out of and what is your music scene like there? Are there any local bands you could recommend?

The band is based in Madrid (Spain). There are plenty of very good bands in Spain. Somehow, it is really difficult to us to export our music outside comparing to other European countries. You can listen to bands like Angelus Apatrida or Crisix, which are the most international ones.

4. How would you describe your style?

We say we play Melodic Death Metal but, at the end, it is just intense heavy metal with vocal growls.

5. What have you released so far and what can someone expect from your works?

The First Insurrection (Demo) – 2013

Bloodhunter (Full length) – 2014

The End of Faith (Full length) – 2017

Knowledge was the Price (Full length) - 2022

6. Do you have any new music in the works?

"Knowledge was the Price" will be released in May 27th. It includes 12 new songs and a cover of Bodom After Midnight (Children of Bodom).

7. How about playing shows and touring, have anything planned out?

We will be presenting the new album touring around Spain in June and July. We will announce further tours for 2023.

8. What plans do you have for the future as a band?

Short-term plans are to export our music by playing in Europe and US, probably in 2023. We will start writing new songs for our 4th album, which won’t be released before 2024.

9. Where can we listen to your band and where can we buy your stuff?



10. What is it you’d like a listener to remember the most when hearing your music for the first time?

We have a lot of influences from different genres and styles, so we just hope you would like it and you notice the different influences we have from classic heavy metal to extreme metal.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]