Next Stop Olympus Says Lots on Themselves and Newest EP!

Melodic metalcore mixed with some post hardcore, good old rock n' roll is NEXT STOP OLYMPUS. Who have released a debut EP along with a follow-up sophomore EP out this spring! They want to write way more music, go out and play shows and do so much more. See what else the band had to say about themselves and their music.

1. Please tell us about the history of your band and its members?

Members - 

Conor McEniry - Vocals

Harry Ellis - Guitar and vocals

Jeremy ‘skips’ Scheepers - Guitar

Matt Gray - Bass and vocals

Josh Williams - Drums

Conor and Matt had discussed being in a band years before NSO actually came about and nothing ever really came from it, fast forward a few years and Matt first met Josh and learned that he played drums and that’s when Next Stop first really started going, Matt and josh started working on finding new members. Matt had asked Conor to join the band as well and them also finding Skips on an online site for musicians, after them all hitting it off well and still looking for a second guitarist they started working on becoming our debut single ‘Home’ during this time they tried out some people to join the band and nothing seemed to work they way they’d hoped and then Matt had realized Harry was back from university and asked him to come along for a chat, having known Harry could sing as well as play guitar it was a perfect fit so then we had our official line up. We started working on our debut EP ‘Hit The Ground Running’, once we had the songs written and planned out we started playing as many shows as possible whilst also going into record the EP. Once the music was recorded, music videos were shot and shows were being played as often as possible, we started working on new music, we wrote Hell To Bear and again went to record the song at Unlucky XVII (where we also recorded the debut EP) and shot the music video. We were lucky to get on some bigger shows with bands such as The Raven Age, THECITYISOURS & Chuggaboom. Whilst still trying to play as many shows as possible we also starting writing for the follow up EP and discussing how we wanted to go about doing the next EP, once we started writing the songs and seeing how much progression we’d made from the start of our band, we decided to go all out for the process and booked in to record at Innersound Studio, once recorded and looking at starting the EP process unfortunately the world was hit by Covid so put a stop to carrying out the required actions for the EP. Once we were able to again we started shooting music videos, again going all out with incredible companies like LifeIsArt Visuals and Loki films, once we could start planning on playing shows again we’d planned out the the release of our brand new recently dropped EP Heart, Mind & Hell.

2. What’s the origin of the bands name?

The band name was actually just stumbled upon really, we were toying with a few ideas for quite a while as all bands do and just nothing felt right and the on a Saturday night Conor was watching Disney’s Hercules and it’s a quote from the film that just stood out so Conor messaged us and we all loved it instantly so it worked out perfect!

3. Where is the band based out of and what is your music scene like there? Are there any local bands you could recommend?

The band are based between Salisbury / Southampton, the scene in Salisbury isn’t particularly big but does get a few bands coming through, however Southampton has a really decent scene, with great venues like The Joiners and Suburbia there’s always some great shows going on and hailing bands like Bury Tomorrow and Our Hollow, Our Home. It’s always sick to see bands from the area that have done really well. As for other locals bands DREAMEATER are fairly local (Andover) and they’re great.

4. How would you describe your style?

Melodic metalcore / post hardcore with old school rock ’n’ roll influences.

5. What have you released so far and what can someone expect from your works?

We released our Debut EP ‘Hit The Ground Running’ mid 2018 and we released our brand new EP ‘Heart, Mind & Hell’ on 9th April 2021. You can expect a big catchy chorus, punchy riffs and lyrics we hope most people can relate to in someway or another.

6. Do you have any new music in the works?

We have just dropped our brand new EP ‘Heart, Mind & Hell’ on the 9th April 2021 but we’ve already started working on what’s next.

7. How about playing shows and touring, have anything planned out?

We’re in the process of trying to get any many shows as possible now that we will have the opportunity to finally play shows again!!

8. What plans do you have for the future as a band?

To write more of the music we enjoy playing and to play it to as many people as possible!

9. Where can we listen to your band and where can we buy your stuff?

Our music is available on all streaming services and people can buy our stuff at our Merch store

10. What is it you’d like a listener to remember the most when hearing your music for the first time?

Hopefully a really catchy chorus so the song is stuck in their head for the day! And that they enjoyed it and take away whatever message they need to from it.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]