Bevar Sea Talks of Recent Release and Further Plans Ahead!

Doom heavy metal band BEVAR SEA just released what is their third album, with plans in the works to do some shows along with touring. The band talks about music, playing shows and more below.

1. Please tell us about the history of your band and its members.

Bevar Sea (pronounced as Bevarsi, a Kannada and Telugu (local languages) term for "Bastard") originally called Dirt Bucket is a stoner/doom metal band based in Bangalore, India. Originally it was a bedroom project of Srikanth Panaman and Kaustubh Thirumalai. However, the band formed into a quintet in late 2010 and currently consists of Avinash Ramchander, Michael Talreja, Ganesh Krishnaswamy, Srikanth Panaman and Preran Gulvady.

In 2012 we released our eponymous album ‘Bevar Sea’ which earned us the "Best Emerging Act" at the Rolling Stone Metal Awards India, a slot in the coveted Maryland Deathfest in 2013 and rave reviews worldwide. Mixed and mastered by the legendary Billy Anderson, the album was regarded highly for its 45-min hook-laden stoner/doom experience by fans and quickly garnered the band a firm reputation - in our country and internationally.

2. What’s the origin of the band’s name?

We were initially called Dirt Bucket. 

3. Where is the band based out of and what is your music scene like there? Are there any local bands you could recommend that play? 

The Band is based out of Bangalore, India. When we started we were the first of our kind, but now there are a handful of bands that play stoner/doom. Our city has had a music scene for years now and some of the popular bands within our taste are Kryptos, Amorphia, Dirge, and Against Evil. 

4. How would you describe your style?

We pay homage to the glory years of the 70s and 80s hard rock and metal with our typical rifftastic stoner/doom sound. While you can pick out our influences, in some ways we’ve got a sound that’s our own. 

5. What have you released so far and what can someone expect from your works?

In 2021, we released our self-titled  debut album ‘Bevar Sea’ which was mixed and mastered by the legendary Billy Anderson. The fan favorite (Abishtu) which narrates the tale of a serial killer out for hipster blood and on the run from the law became a permanent chant by fans whenever we stepped on stage, while the 14-min ‘Mono Gnome’ about a short-statured man and his love for a witch closed the album and turned out to be the pick in the doom circles with its reefer-pleasing, ‘Sleep’– esque flow of slow riffing, and raspy vocals.

We followed up our debut release with ‘Invoke the Bizarre’ in 2015. Drifting into new sonic territories, we crafted a sinister mood for our audience in the first three tracks ‘Bearded and Bizarre’, ‘Bury me in Nola’, and ‘Sleeping Pool’ which boasted of hooks over neck-twisting grooves, down-tempo chugs of the guitars and soaring lead guitars. With the vocal melody chanting ‘Look to the Sky’, we closed the album with the epic ‘The Grand Alignment’ which comprised of a sublime cascade of riffs, solos, bass lines and vocal hooks. Recorded at a breakneck pace over 10 days at Adarsh Recording Studio and mixed and mastered by Matt Lynch (LA's Mysterious Mammal Recording, also from the incredible band Snail), ‘Invoke the Bizarre’ was well received by the press and fans alike for its intricate song arrangements, unique story-telling, mature and well-rounded performances of the band members.

6. Do you have any new music in the works?

In February 2022, we released our 3rd studio album, ‘The Timeless Zone’ which comprises 6 songs and runs for a length of 55 minutes. With the backdrop of the lyrics portraying a tryst with the consciousness of man, storying into travels and visions within the self, the music on this song and over the course of the album pays homage to the glory years of the 70s and 80s hard rock and metal with the typical rifftastic stoner/doom sound the band has embraced on the two albums prior to this.


The Timeless Zone

Alpha None

Sterilize the Divide

The Circle

Kiss the Sigh

Cadaver Awake

7. How about playing shows and touring, have anything planned out?

With the COVID-19 Pandemic soon watering down, we’ve got some local gigs lined up and we are planning on stepping foot in Europe and North America, hopefully sometime in 2023.  

8. What plans do you have for the future as a band? or touring? 

Towards the later part of 2022 we’re going to start writing our next album and simultaneously draw out our touring options. 

9. Where can we listen to your band and where can we buy your stuff?

You can stream and buy our music on our bandcamp page -

10. What is it you’d like a listener to remember the most when hearing your music for the first time?

The never ending cascade of riffs, of course. Haha.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]