Phenomy Chats of Music Old, New, and Other Plans Ahead for Them!

Dark aggressive melodic band PHENOMY have three album's under their belts, their third being their most recent release yet. This band has so much more in-store with so much types of media involved, and shows as well there is no telling where they will go next. The band chats of their music and what's up next below.

1. Please tell us about the history of your band and its members.

Phenomy is a Lebanese metal band that was formed in 2014 when childhood friends Rudy (Drummer) and Loïc (Guitarist) decided to share the music they played in their basement with a wider audience on stage.

The band went through many line-up changes until Sam (Vocalist) joined to record the first album “Once And For All'' in 2015. Later on, Sam also took on the role of rhythm guitarist after we had parted ways with our original guitarist Dany. 

Peter, the bassist, joined the band in 2017 and has also done lots of graphic and illustrated work for the band since then.

We managed to play our first international show in the Persian Rock & Metal Festival in 2015 just 3 months after forming the band. Since then we have toured Eastern Europe, and played major festivals including Wacken Open Air 2018 and Metalhead Meeting Festival 2018.

We are grateful with what we have been able to accomplish so far, especially for a band that comes from a country that doesn’t support this type of music.

2. What’s the origin of the band’s name?

After going through many names and ideas, we thought that Phenomy was cool and diverse enough to represent our music.

The name comes from the word “Phenomenal” and we just thought that it suited well the music we were playing and it was special enough to fit any kind of musical world we would explore in the future.

It actually fits the old school thrash vibes we were influenced by and it also suits our new sound which has a more modern groovy/gothic kind of tone.

3. Where is the band based out of and what is your music scene like there? Are there any local bands you could recommend?

The band was originally based out of Lebanon but we are currently moving to base ourselves in Europe. The metal scene in Lebanon is not very big but consists of many devoted musicians and fans. 

We are actually performing soon in Lebanon after a long time and we are excited to share the stage with other Lebanese bands that we consider like brothers, Khavar and Borrowed Time.

Check out these amazing Lebanese bands (In Alphabetical Order)

Blaakyum (Thrash Metal)

Borrowed Time (Metal Core)

Khavar (Black/Death Metal)

Kimaera (Symphonic Oriental Death Metal)

Nocturna (Melodic Death Metal)

Yansoon (Traditional/folk Lebanese Music)

4. How would you describe your style?

We are always evolving and thriving for new sounds, tones, themes, and experimenting with stuff that influence us to write new music and that makes the whole process even more interesting. We currently are aiming for a dark, aggressive sound that has lots of melodies and groove as well.

5. What have you released so far and what can someone expect from your works?

As previously mentioned, we like experimenting in our music and we get influenced not only by different musical styles and bands but also from different cultures and subjects.

Our debut album “Once and For All” was old school thrash, Kill’em all (Metallica) kind of vibes. 

The second album was a twist of thrash metal and tribal music including tribal chants and ethnic instruments like djembes and Bagpipes.

The new album “Syndicate of Pain” is the first of a series of conceptual albums that sit in the same universe and follow a storyline. Musically, it has a darker and a more aggressive approach.

The album is about an asylum ran by Dr Anton Shuman, a mad scientist that is manipulating criminals and patients labelled insane in his facility. The album later reveals that these patients are not being cured, but are part of a bigger and darker project, that even Dr Schuman himself is being deceived by.

6. Do you have any new music in the works?

We have just released the single “Lead Me to My Throne” with its animated video. Our new album “Syndicate of Pain'' is set to be released on March 3rd 2022.

7. How about playing shows and touring, have anything planned out?

We are performing on April 9th in Beirut and we are booked for the Rock Castle Festival 2022 in Czech Republic. More dates are to be announced soon hopefully.

8. What plans do you have for the future as a band?

We are excited to continue working on the universe that we have launched and making the story evolve through our upcoming albums. We are also working on a series of new content including music videos and graphical and musical content that will follow this storyline and will keep on entertaining our fans.

We have recently moved to Germany so that we can grow and spread our music to a broader audience. Making things work from Lebanon was really difficult for the band and the promoters/professionals we worked with before. Moving to Europe will make things easier and will help us grow faster.

9. Where can we listen to your band and where can we buy your stuff?

Our music is available on all streaming platforms and our music videos are all on YouTube. You can find all the links on our website and follow us on Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube channel for updates. You can also buy our merch and support us here

10. What is it you’d like a listener to remember the most when hearing your music for the first time?

Our music represents the world we live in, and it is a very dark and aggressive world. We would like the listener to relate, be influenced and entertained by our music. We have heard many different versions and interpretations of our songs throughout time and we think it is very interesting to see how people react and interpret our songs differently.

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]