Turbowolf's Chris Talks All About The Free Life

For an act such as Turbowolf, whose creativity revolves around creating magic noise for psychic colossus, this would lead to them making a rock n' metal combo that would span across several releases. Their most latest release being their third full-length album "The Free Life" with plans already set in stone to tour all over from Europe to the U.S. Frontman vocalist and synthesizers Chris Georgiadis discusses the album, history, and why they went with the genre of music that they did, among other matters.

1. Please introduce your band and the band members to our readers.

Andy Ghosh - Guitar. He likes puddings and noise.
Blake Davies - Drum. He likes beer and drums.
Chris Georgiadis - Sing. I like kindness and oddness.
Lianna Davies - Bass. She likes dogs and punks.

2. How did the band come to form, meet, and what is the story to the band's name Turbowolf?

Chris: We met like most people do...looking for fun and finding each other amongst the mess. Andy and I met in Bristol before the internet. We met Blake at some punk-rock shows; he was the hardest hitting drummer we ever saw and years later he joined the band. Lianna came from the wastes of a band called "Pettybone". Her last show happened to be in Bristol, after that, she never went home.

3. Can you tell us the lyrical themes and concept behind the music you create?

Chris: I like to write around a subject. Sometimes as far away as I can. I like there to be themes that are whispered. I find that this allows the listener to develop their own thoughts as to what is going on.

4. Who would you say you take inspiration or influence from the most when creating your music?

Chris: We find counter-inspiration works in a stronger way for us. Knowing what you don't want to sound like is ever-so helpful when writing. There's so much good stuff that I don't know where to start...not just musically, but in all forms of art and beyond. We're living in the age of information excess. Pushing against is our inspiration. 

5. Is there any special reasoning for choosing your musical genre choice?

Chris: We have the same vision that we started the band with, which is to do something new with rock music...or just music in general. Push ourselves into new musical territory while making it vaguely listenable.

6. How do you guys manage to create music at all? What challenges do you face while writing and recording an album? Like your third full-length album "The Free Life" for instance.

Chris: Firstly, I just want to say that we're extremely fortunate to be doing what we do, and the mere fact that anyone else might care about what we do is mind-blowing to us. Sure, it's a challenge to balance life and creating an album, but we do it by our own volition. We gave ourselves to the entire process of making this album, from the songs conception to the mastering...it was exhausting. There have been too many challenges to name and it seems grossly arrogant to speak about them as the world crumbles.     

7. Your upcoming album "The Free Life" will be released soon enough. How was the experience working on the studio? Any funny or even sad happenings during the studio work?

Chris: Well we recorded the majority of the album in my apartment...which is funny by itself. Especially for my neighbors who had to endure me "singing" for about 6 months. Here's some trivia...We recorded the drums at Invada studios in Bristol, which is owned by Geoff Barrow from Portishead. We finished the mix with Tom Dalgety (Royal Blood, Pixies, Ghost etc) who is our friend and makes doing anything "rock" more fun.

8. You went ahead releasing the first single off this album titled "Domino", tell me about this track and why was it picked to be a single? Do you have anymore songs in mind for the next single or video choices?

Chris: Domino is a stone cold banger, which is why we picked it as a single. Has a good bounce to it etc. It also features our friend Mike Kerr from Royal Blood, which we recorded at the Eden project in Cornwall last year while we were playing a show together. We've also just released our latest single called "Cheap Magic" which features Sebastien Grainger from Death From Above. We made the video ourselves and you can go watch it now!

9. How is the metal scene going in your country?

Chris: Sorry, can't help you there. I don't listen to much metal and don't pay much attention to the music press. 

10. What else can we expect to see from you guys, for this year that just started off?

Chris: Our album comes out on March 9th, available to pre-order now. We're starting a UK tour on March 9th also and then we're touring mainland Europe at the end of March into April. Then in May we go the US to tour with Royal Blood. Before heading back to the UK for some summer festivals. After that...who knows. We're open to offers. 

11. Thanks a lot for your time! It ís really nice to know more about you. Would you like to say anything to your fans and our readers?

Chris: Thank you for being interested in our band! We are unknown without the support you give us. And we hope to see you soon on our travels! P.S. Buy our album!

Post a Comment

[facebook] [blogger]

Contact Form


Email *

Message *